New Books
Trans kids, our kids : stories and resources from the frontlines of the movement for transgender youth
Print book available at Skokie Campus HQ77.95 .S87 2024
Gender explained : a new understanding of identity in a gender creative world
An essential primer on gender literacy from leading experts on the front line of the cultural and political debate
Print book available at Oakton's Skokie Library RHC. HQ18.55 .E35 2024
Research for Health Care/Health Career Students and Professionals
When researching information related to transgender people/communities and health, health care, public health, look in both health/medicine databases and LGBTQ/Gender Studies databases.
-
10 Tips for Working with Transgender PatientsAn information and resource publication for health care providers from the Transgender Law Project.
-
International Journal of Transgender Health
International Journal of Transgender Health, together with its partner organization the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH), offers an international, multidisciplinary scholarly forum for publication in the field of transgender health in its broadest sense for academics, practitioners, policy makers, and the general population. -
Transgender Health (Journal)
The journal dedicated to delivering authoritative, peer-reviewed research and clinical studies focused exclusively on meeting the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan. -
Annals of LGBTQ Public & Population Health
This quarterly online journal brings together state-of-the-art scholarship across disciplines, which seeks to enhance the health and well-being of sexual and gender minority (SGM) individuals at the population level with an eye to the intersectional identities that SGM people possess. -
Oakton's Health Science DatabasesLook here for recommended databases for health / medicine research.
-
Oakton's Gender & Sexuality DatabasesLook here for recommended Oakton databases for research related to LGBTQ topics and other diverse/intersectional populations.
-
Research Help from Oakton LibrariansIf you need more help finding what you need, or verifying if information you find is accurate, reach out to the Oakton librarians.
New Research
Loading ...
Background Information Databases
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. -
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies
This encyclopedia takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts, to specific subjects, to key historical figures, events, and organizations.
Relevant Databases for Research
-
LGBTQ+ Source EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
-
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.
Resources for Psych/Counseling Students and Professionals
-
Transgender Mental Health
by
Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 1615371133Publication Date: 2018-03-08Most professional training programs for mental health professionals provide little to no education regarding gender diversity. Transgender Mental Health squarely addresses this deficit. This guide forgoes clinical jargon in favor of accessible, straightforward language designed to educate clinicians on how to address the basic needs of the TGNC community. -
Transgender Children and Youth
by
Call Number: HQ77.9 .N43 2017 (Skokie campus)ISBN: 9780393711394Publication Date: 2017-05-02Elijah C. Nealy, a therapist and former deputy executive director of New York City's LGBT Community Center, and himself a trans man, has written the first-ever comprehensive guide to understanding, supporting, and welcoming trans kids. Covering everything from family life to school and mental health issues, as well as the physical, social, and emotional aspects of transition, this book is full of best practices to support trans kids. -
Free to Be: Understanding Kids & Gender Identity
by
Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 9781668017043Publication Date: 2024-06-04This authoritative guide to understanding and navigating gender identity from an acclaimed expert on the mental health of transgender and gender diverse youth is "a must-read for anyone seeking to better understand how we can truly help all our children thrive" (Chelsea Clinton, #1 New York Times bestselling author).
