Librarian
Recent Books
Holocaust Education by Call Number: Ebook; click for detailsISBN: 9781787357969Publication Date: 2020How do you teach children about the horrifying and systematic violence of the Holocaust? Especially when the very thing that makes it challenging--its intense and complex cruelty--also makes it so necessary to be taught?
In the Garden of the Righteous The Heroes Who Risked Their Lives to Save Jews During the Holocaust by Call Number: audiobook; click for detailsISBN: 9780063037267Publication Date: 2022
The Flight Portfolio A Novel by Call Number: ebook; click for detailsISBN: 9780307959416Publication Date: 2019The inspiration for the Netflix series Transatlantic. Amid the chaos of World War II, and in defiance of restrictive U.S. immigration policies, Fry must procure false passports, secure visas, seek out escape routes through the Pyrenees and by sea, and make impossible decisions about who should be saved, all while under profound pressure—and in a state of irrevocable personal change.
The Alice Network by ISBN: 9780062654205Publication Date: 2017-06-06In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women--a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947--are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.
Recommended Websites
- The United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumFind primary documents, photographs, films, essays, and more.
- Jewish Virtual LibraryA free, online library created by The American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE).
- Yad Vashem: the World Holocaust Remembrance CenterEstablished in 1953 by an act of the Knesset (Israeli Parliament), Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is entrusted with the task of commemorating, documenting, researching and educating about the Holocaust
- Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education CenterLocated in Skokie, he Museum is dedicated to preserving the legacy of the Holocaust by honoring the memories of those who were lost and by teaching universal lessons that combat hatred, prejudice, and indifference.
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
Background Information
The Holocaust: Roots, History, and Aftermath by
The Holocaust: Roots, History, and Aftermath takes a fresh, probing look at one of the greatest human tragedies in modern history. Author David M. Crowe begins with a detailed overview of the history of the Jews, their two-millennia-old struggle with a larger Christian world, and the historical anti-Semitism that created the environment that helped pave the way for the Holocaust. But it would take more than traditional prejudices to bring Europe to the edge of theShoah. It would take someone like Adolf Hitler, who blended his own hatred of the Jews with contemporary ideas about eugenics, Aryan racial superiority, and German nationalistic frustration with the post-1918 Weimar democratic experiment, to bring to life the Nazi racial policies that led to the Final Solution--the mass murder of all of the Jews in Europe. Crowe analyzes the complex origins and evolution of these policies not only toward the Jews, the Nazis' principal victims, but also toward the Roma, the handicapped, and other groups deemed racial or biological threats to Hitler's goal of creating an Aryan-pure Europe. He discusses the spread of these policies in Germany as well as throughout Europe and concludes with a detailed discussion of liberation, Displaced Persons and the founding of Israel, the major war crimes investigations and trials, and continuing international efforts to bring Nazi war criminals to justice.
Call Number: Ebook: click for accessISBN: 9780813343259Publication Date: 2008
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work by
Featuring 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events. Including writers whose works first appeared in Czech, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, and Yiddish, this reference provides wide international coverage, though its focus will be on writers whose work is available in English. It will prove a valuable resource to students, scholars, general readers, or to anyone interested in world history. Also includes maps. For a full list of entries, sample entries, and more, visit the website Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work website.
Call Number: Ebook: click for accessISBN: 9780415929851Publication Date: 2002
- Antisemitism in Media and Popular CultureAn overview from database "Opposing Viewpoints."
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Non Jewish Victims of the Holocaust
- Non-Jewish Holocaust Victims : The 5,000,000 othersRead this BBC article to find out more about the Non Jewish victims of the Holocaust
- LGBTQ+ History Month: gay victims and survivors of the Holocaust are often forgottenBackground information on LGBTQ+ Holocaust Victims
The First into the Dark: The Nazi Persecution of the Disabled by Call Number: ebook; click for accessISBN: 9780648124252Publication Date: 2019
Article Databases for Research
- Jewish Studies Source EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from leading academic journals and newspapers offering a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present.
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowHolocaust and Genocide Studies is an international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.