Adjunct Faculty, Library
Oakton Owls, need help with your upcoming research project? The Oakton Librarians are here to help. Take a look at upcoming Oakton Library workshops for all of your research needs.
Hello everyone - My name is Rebecca Sedam. I am delighted to be your workshop librarian for PSY 101: Introduction to Psychology with Juhelia Thompson. During our September 30 Library Workshop, I will be using this guide to connect you with resources and topics that will help you successfully prepare for your PSY 101 presentation. See my profile box and the tab for our popular "Ask a Librarian" online reference service. Let's get started!
Your PSY 101 assignment
Several key aspects of your PSY 101 oral presentation assignment are described here for your convenience. If you find something that differs from the assignment documents provided by Professor Juhelia Thompson, remember that Professor Thompson's documents serve as the authoritative version.
Oral Presentation Assignment - PSY 101 with Juhelia Thompson
- Each student is required to discuss 5 main points related to their research topic, which can include
- Define the topic, what does it mean
- Demographic of people impacted by topic and why
- Background information or the history about the topic
- Symptoms and recognizable changes to the individual
- Treatment and coping mechanisms
- Must include 5 scholarly sources and cite them using the APA format on the last slide of the presentation
Find background information
-
A Dictionary of Psychology
by
Clear, concise descriptions for over 9,500 entries offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Appendices cover over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780199657681Publication Date: 2015 -
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; 40 landmark case studies and experiments; over 30 primary source materials; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781414412047Publication Date: 2016 -
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, (DSM-5) is a comprehensive psychiatric reference work developed by the American Psychiatric Association and designed to provide clear and detailed guidelines for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Call Number: Library Reserves, Des Plaines and Skokie/RHC. Select title for current availability.ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022
-
Gale Medical Reference This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of several health science titles, including The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Health and Wellness, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. To limit a search to an individual title, use the "Title List" option.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowCredo has articles from multiple specialized reference titles (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) covering a wide range of subjects. Credo researchers typically prefer its default search option, which searches almost 1,500 reference titles simultaneously! If necessary, you can limit your search to an individual Credo reference title instead.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts. PSY 101 students can use Statista to locate mental health-related statistics.
Find journal articles
-
CINAHL Plus Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for nearly 770 journals indexed in CINAHL (Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). See our user guide at: CINAHL - Using Databases at Oakton
-
PsycArticles - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 163,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. See our user guides at: PsycArticles - Using Databases at Oakton
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It also includes strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
-
MEDLINE Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Features unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content, essential to medical professionals and researchers. Includes access to 2,000+ active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications.