It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Try to include only one word or simple phrase in each box.
Narrow your search by choosing to search by author, subject terms, or other options in the drop-down menu next to each search term box. If you do not pick an option, you are performing a keyword search. In other words, the database will look for your terms in any part of the article record.
You can choose to narrow your search parameters further using the options under "Limit your results.” Some examples:
Full Text: Click this box to find only articles that appear in their entirety in this database.
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals: Click this box to find only articles from experts written in peer-reviewed journals.
Year of Publication: Limit by year of publication by entering a starting and ending year in the boxes. (Leave the ending year blank to search up until the present time.)
Once you have done a search, you will reach the results list:
Results appear in Date Newest order (most recent first) under the search term boxes. Click on the “Date Newest” drop-down menu to select other options for sorting.
To get more information about an article listed in your search results, click on the title.
If you did not initially select options such as “Full Text” or “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals” when searching, you can add those search parameters now using the options on the left-hand side of the screen, under “Refine Results.”
The left-hand navigation also allows you to further limit your results by selecting preferred subject headings prevalent in the results. To access this feature, click “Subject: Major Heading” or "Subject" to list the subjects, and then select the subjects relevant to your search.
Once you click on an article title, the following options and information appear:
PDF Full Text: If this option is available on the left side of the screen, it will provide a scanned copy of the original article, images included.
HTML Full Text: If this option is available on the left side of the screen, it will provide the complete text for the article, though images may not be included.
Abstract: Next to the term "Abstract" you can read a short summary of the article.
Just before the Abstract, there will be a list of keywords. Note any terms that look useful; you can scroll up and add them to your search or use them in future searching.
Even further down the page, you will find a list of Subjects. By clicking one of the linked words and phrases in this section, you the database will do a new search using the term selected.
Print or Email: Print or email the article to yourself by clicking "Print" or "E-mail" on the right side of the screen in the Tools section.
Cite: Clicking this link on the right-hand side of the screen (under Tools) will provide a formatted citation. Just select the desired style (APA, Chicago/Turabian, MLA, etc.).
Listening Options: If the HTML Full Text is available, scroll down the item record page to access the audio player right before the text of the article. Clicking on “Listen” will read the full article out loud. The player also includes the option to pause, stop, download an MP3 of the audio, and more.
Other Help Resources
You can find more detailed help guides, videos, and more on the site of the American Psychological Association (APA), the organization that publishes the content in PsycARTICLES. Visit their page for more.