Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Databases at Oakton: Nexis Uni - News

Nexis Uni - News supplies a wide variety of authoritative news sources, including full text of newspapers, magazines, journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts from television and radio networks from the U.S. and around the world. It includes many non-English publications as well. Some general tips:

  • Truncate your terms with an asterisk (*) to find more results.  For example, type comput* to find the words computer or computing.
  • Search for exact phrases with quotation marks (“”).
  • Use just a few key words in your search.  The database will not look for common ‘stop words’ like: been, however, so, or, in, etc.

Access more detailed directions and videos below.

Click the link belowto search Nexis Uni for News. (You will need to log in with your myOakton username and password if you are off campus.)

Jump to: Searching | Results List Article

Searching

To search Nexis Uni - News:

  • You can enter your keywords in the main search box (where it says “All Nexis Uni,” but you will search all Nexis Uni content, not just news. To search for news specifically, it is recommended that you use the “Guided Search” option under the main search box.
  • To use Guided Search:
    1. Under the heading “What are you interested in?” the default selection will be “News.” Leave that box selected unless you want to search for something other than news.
    2. Enter your search terms in the search box under “Search all news for.”
    3. Click on the drop-down menu under "Choose date range" to select from date limiting options.
    4. Click "Search."

Nexis Uni News guided search

Results List

Once you have done a search, you will reach the results list:

  • Results appear in order of Relevance. To sort newest-to-oldest, click on the “Sort by” drop-down menu and select “Date (newest-oldest).” 
  • To get more information about an article listed in your search results, click on the title.

Nexis Uni results list

  • There are many more options for refining your results on the left-hand navigation panel under “Narrow By.” Click to expand any of these categories. Some of the categories include:
    • Timeline: Limit to a specific date range.
    • Publication Type: When doing a News search, options might include Newspapers, Newswires and Press Releases, Blogs, etc.
    • Subject: Narrow your search down by topics suggested by the database.
    • Geography by Document: If you are interested in news from a specific part of the world, choose from the available options in this category.

Item/Article

Once you click on an article title, the following options and information appear:

  • The tool bar at the top includes icons you can click to print, email, and download the full text of the article.
  • Keep scrolling down the page to access the full text of the article (under the “Body” section). 
  • To get a formatted citation (MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, Bluebook), click the box that says "Export Citation" and select your desired style from the drop-down menu that appears.

Nexis Uni News article record

How to Search from the Main Screen

Advanced Search

Select Sources and Create Permalinks

Other Help Videos

You can find more helpful videos about using Nexis Uni on their YouTube playlist.