The library has many physical items (books, CDs, DVDs) to support English language learning. You can get started with the items listed below or you can search the Oakton Library catalog for more. Try searching one of these phrases:
- ESL
- English as a second language
- English language learning
- English language textbooks for foreign speakers
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
Featured Language Learning Books
ESL Beginner, 3rd Ed by
ESL Beginner Makes English Easy! If you need to learn the basics of English grammar, this is the book for you! Written by experienced ESL teachers specifically for ESL learners, this easy-to-use handbook is perfect for anyone who is just learning the language. ESL Beginner introduces you to the basics of English grammar with confidence-building activities and exercises that move you to the next level with the right tools and at the right pace. The book uses daily living skills to help you understand English grammar concepts such as nouns, verbs, simple sentences, compound sentences, and modifiers. Special tables that address articles, vocabulary, plurals, prepositions, and irregular verbs are included for additional review. Each section of the book contains skill-building exercises and examples that let you practice what you have learned. A glossary of the basic parts of speech, plus appendices of word lists are included for reference. With ESL Beginner, you'll be able to learn at your own pace and enhance your speaking abilities through individual exercises, class discussions, and group projects that are fun and effective learning devices. This book is an ideal supplement to classroom textbooks and language courses, and serves as the perfect ESL workbook for anyone preparing for an English language test. The book builds upon your knowledge of English grammar as you 'graduate' through each chapter. Whether you're studying English in a class or on your own, this fun and friendly workbook will help you build your skills and communicate with precision…and success.
ISBN: 9780738611006Publication Date: 2012
Easy English Step-by-Step by
You've come to the right place for learning English quickly and easily! Easy English Step-by-Step for ESL Learners is based on the idea that the quickest route to learning this subject is building a solid foundation in the basics. You won't find a lot of pointless discussion; instead, you get an original, step-by-step approach to mastering English, with important concepts linked together by clearexplanations, appropriate exercises, and helpful answers. The first steps introduce you to the everyday expressions of the English language, allowing you to communicate in a variety of everyday situations almost immediately. Gradually, a series of interconnected steps takes you from simple to more challenging concepts at your own pace, with a variety of increasingly difficult exercises to practice what you've learned. After working through these exercises, you'll have a better grasp of the subject along with the knowledge and skills you need to handle English with confidence. Easy English Step-by-Step for ESL Learners features: Easy-to-understand grammar explanations with multiple examples Realistic conversations for practical situations, from Shopping to Getting Around Town and Making Friends Helpful communication strategies, including the use of gestures and body language Exercises to help test what you've learned and measure progress Online audio recordings to improve pronunciation and fluency Danielle Pelletier is the president of English League, a translation and workforce training companythat provides English and foreign-language training and cross-cultural education to international students andprofessionals working in universities and corporations.
ISBN: 9780071820981Publication Date: 2014
McGraw-Hill Education Essential ESL Dictionary by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn and understand thousands of new English words Clear, comprehensive, and easy to use, McGraw-Hill: Essential ESL Dictionary for Learners of English was developed to meet the needs of ESL students like you. Inside you will find more than 9,000 English terms, each with a simple definition so you will understand its meaning and usage. Every entry is accompanied by its phonetic translation, definition, and explanation. You'll find example sentences throughout that show English words in context. Hundreds of illustrations are also used throughout the dictionary, giving you visual reinforcement of word meanings. INCLUDES: 9,000+ American and British words, explained in easy-to-understand language Grammar and usage boxes to aid your understanding of key concepts A grammar summary that highlights parts of speech, idioms, sentence structures, and more A special section of illustrations--featuring thematic groups of words including animals, nature, electronics, music, the classroom, and more--to help you remember common terms A conversation guide that identifies important phrases for everyday situations such as meeting people, asking directions, going shopping, and more Whether you use it at work, in school, or at home, McGraw-Hill: Essential ESL Dictionary for Learners of English will become your trusted reference as you learn the language and build your English skills.
ISBN: 9780071840187Publication Date: 2014
The ESL Writer's Handbook, 2nd Ed by
The ESL Writer's Handbook is a reference work for ESL students who are taking college-level courses. Because its purpose is to provide help with the broad variety of writing questions students may have when working on school assignments, the text focuses on English for Academic Purposes. Unlike other handbooks on the market, this book's sole purpose is to address the issues of second language learners. The spiral-bound Handbook complements a student writer's dictionary, thesaurus, and grammar reference book. It would be suitable as a text for an advanced ESL writing course when used together with the companion Workbook (978-0-472-03726-1). The new edition features significant revisions to Sections 3 and 4; in particular, both APA and MLA style guides have been updated and new sample papers for each are included. The new edition includes new and revised exercises and many new samples of student writing. Like its predecessor, the 2nd Edition has these special features: The topic selection is based on ESL writers' needs as observed by the authors over many years. The coverage of topics is more complete than the limited amount usually provided for ESL writers in first language or L1 handbooks. The explanatory language is appropriate for ESL students, in contrast to the more complex and idiomatic language of other English handbooks. Many of the examples of paragraphs, essays, research papers, and exercise sentences were written by ESL students to help users realize that they too can become effective writers.
ISBN: 9780472037070Publication Date: 2017
How I Learned English by
All over the world there are people struggling to master the quirks and challenges of English. In today's America, many millions of them are Latino-and in this eloquent collection, nearly 60 of the best known contribute fascinating, revealing, often touching essays on the very personal process each went through to achieve this common end. Their successes are inspiring. Their pieces, engaging and entertaining all, express the whole range of emotions that learning any new language entails.Congressman José Serrano, for example, describes learning English from Frank Sinatra records. Cuban-American author Oscar Hijuelos picked it up as a sick little boy in an American hospital bed. Many find it a daunting ordeal; for others English came easily. But from TV personality Cristina Saralegui to Hall of Fame baseball player Orlando Cepeda, every last one remembers what it felt like to do battle with bizarre idioms, irregular verbs, and all the other incomprehensible intricacies that tangle the tongue.And of course, every new English-speaker has a tale to tell: an immigrant yearning to assimilate and achieve, or a political exile suddenly far from home and alone, or a child who just wants to fit in. Their fears and triumphs will resonate with everyone who has shared this exasperating, exhilarating experience, whether last year or a lifetime ago. This wonderful, eclectic, inviting collection speaks to-and for-all of them, and goes directly to the heart of the national debate on language and immigration.
Call Number: PE1129.S8 H85 2007ISBN: 1426200978Publication Date: 2007
Other Physical Items
DVDs, Audio Cassettes, CDs
Basic Grammar in Use by
Basic Grammar in Use, Second Edition, is a new edition of a highly successful text for high-beginning to low-intermediate students. Each unit in the Basic Grammar in Use Student's Book is presented in a two-page spread, with simple, clear explanations on the left-hand page and practice exercises to check understanding on the right. This edition includes an Audio CD with example sentences, 10 units of new material, more exercises per unit, and a section of Additional Exercises, which give students the opportunity to consolidate what they have learned. An edition without answer keys is also available. Basic Grammar in Use, Second Edition, can be used as a class text or for self-study.
ISBN: 9780521626002Publication Date: 2002
Easy English by
Easy Englishis the revolutionary new English learning program from Living Language. It teaches English to speakers ofanylanguage, even if he or she has never spoken a word of English. This breakthrough course teaches all the basic grammar and vocabulary needed for everyday situations such as introducing oneself, making phone calls, and shopping. The book includes over 400 easy to understand line drawings to teach vocabulary, dialogues, reading, and comprehension skills. The audio portion includes exercises to improve pronunciation and speaking skills. It makes important structures of English simple for anyone to understand, use, and master. Easy Englishwill have students speaking and understanding English in record time. Features: Revolutionary teaching method A program for speakers of any language Absolutely no previous knowledge of English necessary Includes: Two 90-minute cassettes 300+ page book with 400 illustrations in English only
ISBN: 9780609607305Publication Date: 2000
Books for ESL Students
What Makes America Tick? by
What Makes America Tick? examines some of the historical and cultural events that occurred in 20th century America and uses them as a springboard to create an understanding of U.S. institutions, policies, attitudes, and values for ESL students. The text: improves reading skills by engaging learners in readings pertaining to important events in modern U.S. history increases learner proficiency in high-frequency vocabulary words and their derivatives enhances formal and informal writing skills via personal responses to events portrayed in the text improves formal presentation, informal discussion, and personal speaking skills in class discussions and more structured situations enhances listening skills via peer and instructor interaction provides interaction with authentic cultural artifacts from the 20th century, including literature, poetry, artwork, sculpture, photography, speeches, etc., and makes explicit their contextual importance. Each unit of What Makes America Tick? consists of a Link to Today section that examines the current effects of history on the life of today's target language speakers.
ISBN: 9780472088836Publication Date: 2003
Choice Readings by
Using the popular format of Reader's Choice, Choice Readings introduces intermediate students to the skills and strategies of independent and efficient reading. Choice Readings provides a wide range of authentic reading experiences. Essays and editorials sharpen critical reading skills. Students read and discuss the roles of family members in different cultures, the dynamics of power in international political relations, and many other thought-provoking topics. The needs of today's international language learners are reflected in the science and business features as well as in magazine and newspaper articles on topics of widespread interest, such as the rights of smokers. Maps, charts, and graphs complement many of the prose selections. Fiction, both adult and children's literature, provides opportunities for students to stretch their imaginations. Cartoons provide insight into human nature and cultural differences.
ISBN: 9780472083299Publication Date: 1996
The Chicken Smells Good by
This popular three-level reading series features a variety of themes and issues, and high-interest dialogs and stories about ordinary people from around the world. Students can identify with the hopes, dreams, and fears of these real people, and will enjoy reading and discussing these stories and dialogs as they relate their own experiences to the class.
ISBN: 9780135762165Publication Date: 1997
