Are you unable to come to campus to pick up materials? You have many remote options to support your language learning.
PrepSTEP®
Oakton College students can create an account with LearningExpress PrepSTEP® for tutorials and quizzes in many subjects, including Core English Skills.
- LearningExpress PrepStep for Colleges This link opens in a new window
eBooks Available with Oakton Library Card
Learning English As a Foreign Language for Dummies by
Do you know a bit of English, and want to improve without a teacher? Whether you're a student, a traveller, or you just want to learn basic English, this plain-speaking guide will help you pick up the essentials so you'll be understanding and speaking English in no time. Improve your grammar, speech, vocabulary and pronunciation at your own pace, and prepare yourself to get around in any English-speaking country comfortably - and without embarrassment! Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies includes: Part I: Getting Started Chapter 1: You Already Know a Little English Chapter 2: Basic English Grammar Chapter 3: Greetings and Introductions Part II: English in Action Chapter 4: Shopping and Numbers Chapter 5: Eating Out Chapter 6: Out on the Town Chapter 7: Hobbies and Free Time Chapter 8: Talking on the Phone Chapter 9: At the Office and Around the House Chapter 10: Written English - Newspapers and Signs Part III: English on the Go Chapter 11: Money Chapter 12: Checking into a Hotel Chapter 13: Asking Directions and Getting Around Chapter 14: Handling Emergencies Part IV: The Part of Tens Chapter 15: Ten Ways to Speak English Quickly Chapter 16: Ten Favourite English Expressions Chapter 17: Ten Holidays to Remember Chapter 18: Ten Phrases That Make You Sound Fluent in English Part V: Appendices Appendix A: Phrasal verbs explained Appendix B: Common Verbs [Agree, Can / be able, Come, Do, Go, Have, Make , Need, Put, Think] English Irregular Verbs Appendix C: On the CD Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780470685877Publication Date: 2009
PDX Journeys: Studying and Living in the US, Low-Intermediate Novel and Textbook for University ESL Students by Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2016 -- College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success by Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2018 -
Filtering Oakton Database Results by Lexile Level
Many of our databases allow students to filter their searches by lexile level. In most cases, you will need to use the "Advanced Search" feature and look for a lexile level or content level option. Some of the databases that offer this feature are:
- Gale Medical Reference This link opens in a new window
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- Health and Wellness - GVRL This link opens in a new window
- MAS Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Do you want to learn more about using databases? Explore our Databases Guide.
Helpful Websites
Pronunciation Help
- English Listening Lesson Library Online (ELLLO)ELLLO offers over 2,500 free listening lessons. Teachers and students can access lessons for both beginner, intermediate advanced students.
- American English Pronunciation Practice (ManyThings.org)Game-like Minimal Pair Practice using Flash and MP3 Files
Writing and Grammar
- Merriam Webster Dictionary OnlineFree online dictionary that provides spelling, definitions, pronunciations, and synonyms.
- Khan Academy : GrammarVideo tutorials and lessons.
- Multilingual Exercises - Purdue OWL® - Purdue UniversityThe exercises in this category cover a wide range of topics, but have been designed for second language writers of a variety of proficiency levels.
Comprehension/Receptive Skills
- Randall's ESL Cyber Listening LabOnline English listening comprehension quizzes and activities for ESL and EFL learners.
- Breaking News English2,915 Free English News Lessons in 7 Levels.
YouTube Channels
- PodEnglish5 minute English lessons.
- Listen and Read AlongWords are highlighted as you hear them, so it's easy to follow the text as you listen.
- TeacherPhilLessons cover basic English, business English, idioms, and more.
- JenniferESLVocabulary, pronunciation, verb tenses, and other topics.
Podcasts
- All Ears EnglishLindsay, Jessica, and Michelle are certified teachers of English as a second language. They help listeners improve vocabulary and pronunciation as well as teach various aspects of American culture.
- Essential English--BeginnersThis American English podcast provides simple, easy-to-understand oral exercises. It is accompanied by a free transcript, so you can see the text of every episode while listening to it.
- RealLife EnglishWith hundreds of episodes, accelerate your English fluency with these casual, but very informative conversations between native English teachers and speakers.