Find Articles
Try searching our databases using these terms:
- English as a Foreign Language
- Limited English-proficient students
- Test of English as a foreign language
- English (second language)
- English language learners
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC Education Resources EBSCO This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
- Community College Journal of Research and Practice This link opens in a new windowResearch papers in the fields of community college education and the behavioral sciences.
- Community College Review (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed research and commentary on community colleges.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowIncludes college and university news, information, and announcements from September 1989 to present.
Find Books
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
The Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages by
This important book, with 32 chapters by leading figures in the field, is an up-to-date guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.
Call Number: Click on title for locations and availabilityISBN: 9780521801270Publication Date: 2001
ESL Games for the Classroom by
Motivate your students to learn English with quick set-up, interactive activities from ESL Games for the Classroom. Every moment of class time counts. To fill class time productively, ESL Games for the Classroom offers effective ESL games that engage students with little or no prep work. Quick and easy to set-up, these interactive ESL activities are perfect to warm up a class, round out a lesson, or teach a particular grammar or vocabulary point. Clearly organized by skill and level, ESL Games for the Classroom is the go-to ESL teacher's companion for adding educational games to the agenda. Improve pronunciation, strengthen vocabulary, and make learning fun--ESL Games for the Classroom offers quick and easy solutions to play-based lessons with: 101 ESL games that require little or no prep work for classroom-tested fun Clear organization that allows you to quickly reference games based on the skills you're teaching, classroom size, and difficulty level Flexible use for both small and big groups, plus options for private lessons At the end of every class, leave your students excited to learn more in your next lesson with effective and entertaining activities from ESL Games for the Classroom.
Call Number: Click on title for locations and availabilityISBN: 9781641521093Publication Date: 2018
Teaching English As a Second Language by
This guide examines the concepts that most often confound ESL students, whose confusion can generally be reduced to one very basic question: Why does English work that way? Focusing on the grammar of conversational speech, the book goes beyond simple description of the parts of speech, tenses and modes, and other topics of instruction to consider the cultural differences in language use (for native speakers of Japanese, for instance, the painting may be on the wall--but the wall is also on the painting) and even the neuroscience of our speech patterns. With 36 illustrations, an annotated bibliography and list of online resources, a glossary, and end-of-chapter exercises, this book equips instructors and advanced students to explain everyday language choices that stymie non-native speakers. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780786470624Publication Date: 2012
Ethical Issues for Esl Faculty by
This book explicitly addresses ethical dilemmas and issues that post-secondary ESL faculty commonly encounter and examines them in the framework of social justice concerns. Ethics is defined broadly, to include responsibilities and obligations to students inside and outside the classroom, as well to colleagues, educational institutions, the TESL profession, and society as a whole. Scenarios in each chapter provide realistic and compelling situations for reflection and discussion. The authors then set out the issues raised, relate them to the classroom environment, and offer opportunities to examine them in a variety of contexts and to consider possible solutions to the dilemmas. Issues include testing, plagiarism, technology, social and political issues affecting students and the classroom, gift-giving, curriculum decisions, disruptive students, institutional constraints, academic freedom, gender, class, and power. Busy classroom instructors will find this book accessible, thought-provoking, and relevant to their daily work situations. It is not intended as a theoretical treatment of ethics and social justice in ESL, nor does it propose that ESL faculty teach morals or ethics to students. Rather, it is designed as a concise, practical introduction to ethical practice for both new and experienced ESL faculty in post-secondary teaching situations in the United States, for others interested in the ESL classroom, and as a text for TESL classes and seminars. Ethical Issues for ESL Faculty: *maps new territory in the field--ethical issues in TESL, particularly as encountered by post-secondary classroom teachers, are not often discussed in ESL publications; *makes the complex issues of ethics in the context of social justice accessible to TESL practitioners; and *includes useful resources, such as additional scenarios for discussion, an extensive reference list, and selected ethics-related Web sites.
Call Number: Click on title for locations and availabilityISBN: 0805840281Publication Date: 2002
