What is background information?
Background information provides basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about your topic. Use only the information that you find useful in starting your research. You can always return to your sources if you need more in-depth information as you get deeper into your research topic.
Certificate of Manufacture info
Recommended databases for background information
Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowBasic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. Includes a dictionary/thesaurus, media (photographs & selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites, and news articles.
Books on Manufacturing and Design
Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner by
Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner Discover how to shift from traditional to additive manufacturing processes with this core resource from industry leaders Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner delivers a vital examination of the methods and techniques needed to transition from traditional to additive manufacturing. The book explains how traditional manufacturing work roles change as various industries move into additive manufacturing and describes the flow of the typical production process in additive manufacturing. Detailed explorations of the processes, inputs, machine and build preparation, post-processing, and best practices are included, as well as real-world examples of the principles discussed within. Every chapter includes a problems and opportunities section that prompts readers to apply the book's techniques to their own work. Diagrams and tables are distributed liberally throughout the work to present concepts visually, and key options and decisions are highlighted to assist the reader in understanding how additive manufacturing changes traditional workflows. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of A thorough introduction on how to move into additive manufacturing, including the identification of a manufacturing opportunity and its characteristics An exploration of how to determine if additive manufacturing is the right solution, with descriptions of the origins of additive manufacturing and the current state of the technology An examination of the materials used in additive manufacturing, including polymers, composites, metals, plasters, and biomaterials A discussion of choosing an additive manufacturing technology and process Perfect for mechanical engineers, manufacturing professionals, technicians, and designers new to additive manufacturing, Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner will also earn a place in the libraries of technical, vocational, and continuing education audiences seeking to improve their skills with additive manufacturing workflows.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781119750529Publication Date: 2021
Sustainable Manufacturing Challenges, Solutions and Implementation Perspectives by
Sustainability imposes an unprecedented challenge on society and has become the driving force of an urgent search for innovative solutions in all branches of economy. Manufacturing plays a key role in many areas of human living, and it is both part of the problem and of the solution. This book offers an overview of the broad field of research on sustainability in manufacturing with a particular focus on manufacturing technology and management. It summarizes the current challenges, describes best in class methods for development of sustainable manufacturing solutions and offers implementation perspectives. This volume covers areas of research such as production processes, product development, business model and corporate development, macro economy and education. The target audience primarily comprises research experts and practitioners in the field of manufacturing, but the book may also be beneficial for graduate students. .
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 3319485148Publication Date: 2017
CREDO Tutorial
Length: 2:48. Hit play and then watch full screen.