Searching for books in the Library's Catalog
Search over 100,000 books in the Library's Catalog and books from 127 Illinois college and university libraries in the I-Share Catalog.
Selected books from the Library's catalog
Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner by
Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner Discover how to shift from traditional to additive manufacturing processes with this core resource from industry leaders Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner delivers a vital examination of the methods and techniques needed to transition from traditional to additive manufacturing. The book explains how traditional manufacturing work roles change as various industries move into additive manufacturing and describes the flow of the typical production process in additive manufacturing. Detailed explorations of the processes, inputs, machine and build preparation, post-processing, and best practices are included, as well as real-world examples of the principles discussed within. Every chapter includes a problems and opportunities section that prompts readers to apply the book's techniques to their own work. Diagrams and tables are distributed liberally throughout the work to present concepts visually, and key options and decisions are highlighted to assist the reader in understanding how additive manufacturing changes traditional workflows. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of A thorough introduction on how to move into additive manufacturing, including the identification of a manufacturing opportunity and its characteristics An exploration of how to determine if additive manufacturing is the right solution, with descriptions of the origins of additive manufacturing and the current state of the technology An examination of the materials used in additive manufacturing, including polymers, composites, metals, plasters, and biomaterials A discussion of choosing an additive manufacturing technology and process Perfect for mechanical engineers, manufacturing professionals, technicians, and designers new to additive manufacturing, Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner will also earn a place in the libraries of technical, vocational, and continuing education audiences seeking to improve their skills with additive manufacturing workflows.
ISBN: 9781119750529Publication Date: 2021
Photovoltaic Manufacturing by
PHOTOVOLTAIC MANUFACTURING This book covers the state-of-the-art and the fundamentals of silicon wafer solar cells manufacturing, written by world-class researchers and experts in the field. High quality and economic photovoltaic manufacturing is central to realizing reliable photovoltaic power supplies at reasonable cost. While photovoltaic silicon wafer manufacturing is at a mature, industrial and mass production stage, knowing and applying the fundamentals in solar manufacturing is essential to anyone working in this field. This is the first book on photovoltaic wet processing for silicon wafers, both mono- and multi-crystalline. The comprehensive book provides information for process, equipment, and device engineers and researchers in the solar manufacturing field. The authors of the chapters are world-class researchers and experts in their field of endeavor. The fundamentals of wet processing chemistry are introduced, covering etching, texturing, cleaning and metrology. New developments, innovative approaches, as well as current challenges are presented. Benefits of reading the book include: The book includes a detailed discussion of the important new development of black silicon, which is considered to have started a new wave in photovoltaics and become the new standard while substantially lowering the cost. Photovoltaics are central to any country's "New Green Deal" and this book shows how to manufacture competitively. The book's central goal is to show photovoltaic manufacturing can be done with enhanced quality and lowering costs. Audience Engineers, chemists, physicists, process technologists, in both academia and industry, that work with photovoltaics and their manufacture.
ISBN: 9781119241898Publication Date: 2021
Modeling and Optimization in Manufacturing by
Discover the state-of-the-art in multiscale modeling and optimization in manufacturing from two leading voices in the field Modeling and Optimization in Manufacturing delivers a comprehensive approach to various manufacturing processes and shows readers how multiscale modeling and optimization processes help improve upon them. The book elaborates on the foundations and applications of computational modeling and optimization processes, as well as recent developments in the field. It offers discussions of manufacturing processes, including forming, machining, casting, joining, coating, and additive manufacturing, and how computer simulations have influenced their development. Examples for each category of manufacturing are provided in the text, and industrial applications are described for the reader. The distinguished authors also provide an insightful perspective on likely future trends and developments in manufacturing modeling and optimization, including the use of large materials databases and machine learning. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to the origins of manufacturing, the history of traditional and advanced manufacturing, and recent progress in manufacturing An exploration of advanced manufacturing and the environmental impact and significance of manufacturing Practical discussions of the economic importance of advanced manufacturing An examination of the sustainability of advanced manufacturing, and developing and future trends in manufacturing Perfect for materials scientists, mechanical engineers, and process engineers, Modeling and Optimization in Manufacturing will also earn a place in the libraries of engineering scientists in industries seeking a one-stop reference on multiscale modeling and optimization in manufacturing.
ISBN: 9783527346943Publication Date: 2021
Making It by
In the 1950s, manufacturing generated nearly 30 percent of U.S. income. Over the past fifty-five years, that share has gradually declined to less than 12 percent. At the same time, real estate, finance, and Wall Street trading have grown. While manufacturing's share of the U.S. economy shrinks, it expands in countries such as China and Germany that have a strong industrial policy. Meanwhile Americans are only vaguely aware of the many consequences of the loss of that industrial base, including a decline in their self-image as inventive, practical, and effective people. And yet, with the improbable rise of Donald Trump, the consequences of the hollowing out of America's once-vibrant industrial working class can no longer be ignored. Reporting from places where things were and sometimes still are "Made in the USA"--Albany, New York, Boston, Detroit, Fort Wayne, Los Angeles, Milwaukee, Philadelphia, St. Louis, and Washington, D.C. -- longtime New York Times economics correspondent Louis Uchitelle argues that the government has a crucial role to play in making domestic manufacturing possible.
Call Number: LD925.G73 A3 2018ISBN: 9781595588975Publication Date: 2017
The Cure for Catastrophe by
We can't stop natural disasters but we can stop them being disastrous. One of the world's foremost risk experts tells us how. Year after year, floods wreck people's homes and livelihoods, earthquakes tear communities apart, and tornadoes uproot whole towns. Natural disasters cause destruction and despair. But does it have to be this way? In The Cure for Catastrophe, global risk expert Robert Muir-Wood argues that our natural disasters are in fact human ones: We build in the wrong places and in the wrong way, putting brick buildings in earthquake country, timber ones in fire zones, and coastal cities in the paths of hurricanes. We then blindly trust our flood walls and disaster preparations, and when they fail, catastrophes become even more deadly. No society is immune to the twin dangers of complacency and heedless development. Recognizing how disasters are manufactured gives us the power to act. From the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 to Hurricane Katrina, The Cure for Catastrophe recounts the ingenious ways in which people have fought back against disaster. Muir-Wood shows the power and promise of new predictive technologies, and envisions a future where information and action come together to end the pain and destruction wrought by natural catastrophes. The decisions we make now can save millions of lives in the future. Buzzing with political plots, newfound technologies, and stories of surprising resilience, The Cure for Catastrophe will revolutionize the way we conceive of catastrophes: though natural disasters are inevitable, the death and destruction are optional. As we brace ourselves for deadlier cataclysms, the cure for catastrophe is in our hands.
Call Number: LB1025.3 .A935 2010ISBN: 9780465060948Publication Date: 2016
Machinery's Handbook, 30th Edition, Toolbox Edition by
For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world. It is universally acknowledged as an extraordinarily authoritative, comprehensive, and practical tool, providing its users with the most fundamental and essential aspects of sophisticated manufacturing practice. The 30th edition of the "Bible of the Metalworking Industries" contains major revisions of existing content, as well as new material on a variety of topics. It is the essential reference for mechanical, manufacturing, and industrial engineers, designers, draftsmen, toolmakers, machinists, engineering and technology students, and the serious home hobbyist. New to the 30th Edition: Expanded metrology section, including v-blocks and micrometer, vernier, and dial calipers. New fluid power section covering pneumatic,hydraulic, and vacuum theory and applications. New powder metallurgy section, including additive manufacturing. Even more useful specs, including tap drill sizes for Unified threads, reaming allowances for drilling, mesh and grit sizes, rules for figuring tapers, and assembly with pins and studs. Recently added information on sheet metal and presses, keys and keyways, shaft alignment, taps and tapping, helical coil screw thread inserts, metric screw threads, miniature screws, fluid mechanics, solid geometry, statistics, calculating hole coordinates and thread dimensions, and distinguishing between bolts and screws. Plus . . . Many thoroughly reworked and renovated sections throughout. Comprehensive tables of contents at the beginning of each section and extensive indexing. Hundreds of new and thousands of refined and redone illustrations and equations. Updated standards. Expanded metric content.
Call Number: Library, General Collection (A-G Second Floor, H-Z and Oversized First Floor): TJ151 .O245 2016ISBN: 9780831130916Publication Date: 2016
Applied Mechanical Design by
This book is the result of lessons, tutorials and other laboratories dealing with applied mechanical design in the universities and colleges. In the classical literature of the mechanical design, there are quite a few books that deal directly and theory and case studies, with their solutions. All schools, engineering colleges (technical) industrial and research laboratories and design offices serve design works. However, the books on the market remain tight in the sense that they are often works of mechanical constructions. This is certainly beneficial to the ordinary user, but the organizational part of the functional specification items is also indispensable.
ISBN: 9781119137672Publication Date: 2018
Mechanics and Uncertainty by
Science is a quest for certainty, but lack of certainty is the driving force behind all of its endeavors. This book, specifically, examines the uncertainty of technological and industrial science. Uncertainty and Mechanics studies the concepts of mechanical design in an uncertain setting and explains engineering techniques for inventing cost-effective products. Though it references practical applications, this is a book about ideas and potential advances in mechanical science.
ISBN: 111893105XPublication Date: 2014
AutoCAD for Dummies by
Simple steps for creating AutoCAD drawings AutoCAD is the ubiquitous tool used by engineers, architects, designers, and urban planners to put their ideas on paper. It takes some AutoCAD know-how to go from a brilliant idea to a drawing that properly explains how brilliant your idea is. AutoCAD For Dummies helps you de-mystify the handy software and put the tools in AutoCAD to use. Written by an experienced AutoCAD engineer and mechanical design instructor, it assumes no previous computer-aided drafting experience as it walks you through the basics of starting projects and drawing straight lines all the way up through 3D modeling. Conquer the first steps in creating an AutoCAD project Tackle drawing basics including straight lines and curves Add advanced skills including 3D drawing and modeling Set up a project and move into 3D It's true that AutoCAD is tough, but with the friendly instruction in this hands-on guide, you'll find everything you need to start creating marvelous models--without losing your cool.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781119580102Publication Date: 2019
Sustainable Manufacturing Challenges, Solutions and Implementation Perspectives by
This edited volume presents the research results of the Collaborative Research Center 1026 "Sustainable manufacturing - shaping global value creation". The book aims at providing a reference guide of sustainable manufacturing for researchers, describing methodologies for development of sustainable manufacturing solutions. The volume is structured in four chapters covering the following topics: sustainable manufacturing technology, sustainable product development, sustainable value creation networks and systematic change towards sustainable manufacturing. The target audience comprises both researchers and practitioners in the field of sustainable manufacturing, but the book may also be beneficial for graduate students.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9783319485133Publication Date: 2017
Google Books
Search through millions of the world's books scanned and stored in Google's digital database.