LibGuides: Business Administration: Getting Started

Getting Started with Business Administration

graphic banner that says, "Business Administration" This guide is designed to help students get started with business administration research by providing essential resources and tools. It also offers information on Oakton’s Business Administration program and directs users to key research areas, including industry and company analysis.

Business Administration at Oakton

Our Business program offers two certificates focusing on fundamental skills: the Applied Business Certificate and the Customer Service Certificate. As part of the Division of Business and Career Technologies, Oakton's Business program can help give you the skills and knowledge to succeed in business and find a job in roles as varied as human resources, marketing, sales, management and many more.

Business and Financial Occupations: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics produces this valuable collection of job summaries, entry-level education requirements, and median pay.
Illinois Career Information System
A self-directed, no cost, internet-based system that combines a wealth of career, education/training, and labor market information into one comprehensive, easy-to-use resource tool.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, and more than 55,000 career resource entries.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information to people making decisions about their future work lives, including training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions in a variety of occupations.

American Management Association
The AMA provides trainings and valuable resources to ensure business professionals stay knowledgeable in the competitive business world.
DECA
This international, non-profit organization has been developing the business skills of college and high school students since 1946.
Business Professionals of America
Business Professionals of America is the premier CTSO (Career and Technical Student Organization) for students pursuing careers in business management, information technology, finance, office administration, health administration and other related career fields.
National Business Association
The National Business Association is a not for profit association, specifically designed and actively managed to assist the Self-Employed and Small Business Community in achieving their professional goals." Features extensive list articles designed to support the small business person
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Represents the interests of more than 3 million businesses. The web site features information on important issues and Op-ed articles.
American Marketing Association
Members of the American Marketing Association are dedicated professionals who work, teach and study in the field and have a passion for advancing our industry.

Websites

Includes authoritative websites and online resources from government agencies related to business administration.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) website, bls.gov, offers valuable resources for both business administration students and professionals looking to forecast industry trends.
Department of Commerce
The official website of the federal agency responsible for creating conditions for economic growth and opportunity. It provides information on the department's structure, budget, and history, as well as its various bureaus and agencies.
Minority Business Development Agency
The Minority Business Development Agency’s (MBDA) mission is to promote the growth and global competitiveness of Minority Business Enterprises (MBE) in order to unlock the country’s full economic potential.
Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) continues to help small business owners and entrepreneurs pursue the American dream. This federal agency is dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses.