Business Statistics
How can I use this business statistics and library resources mentioned below?
Use statistics to make comparisons, show historical trends, make predictions, and more. In other words, use the U.S. and International statistics shown here to back up what you say!
Use library resources, including databases with full-text journals and industry reports, books containing statistics and data, and research support services which provide you with a comprehensive range of statistical data, scholarly sources, and expert guidance to enhance your coursework, projects, and overall comprehension of the business discipline.
- Economic Data - Federal Reserve Bank of ChicagoData available from the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. This page contains access to data series in html and xls formats as well as PDFs.
- Economic Report of the President (FRASER St. Louis Fed)The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It provides an overview of the nation's economic progress as well as an extensive list of statistical tables.
- FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data), a service of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, makes it possible for users to create charts and customized maps of U.S. economic data.
- Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)SUSB is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.
- Survey of Current BusinessArticles in the monthly Survey of Current Business present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
- United State Census Datadata.census.gov is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Select either the free-form single search bar or an advanced search filter option.
Business books, databases, and magazines
Data Ethics Management by ISBN: 9783031214905Publication Date: 2023-11-23This open access book explains how leading business organizations attempt to achieve the responsible and ethical use of artificial intelligence (AI) and other advanced information technologies. These technologies can produce tremendous insights and benefits. But they can also invade privacy, perpetuate bias, and otherwise injure people and society. To use these technologies successfully, organizations need to implement them responsibly and ethically. The question is: how to do this? Data ethics management, and this book, provide some answers.
Take Your Marketing Online! by ISBN: 9781119448464Publication Date: 2017-10-30In this comprehensive guide, CPA firm marketing expert Bonnie Buol Ruszczyk teaches the art of growing a firm in the digital age, guiding the firm through exercises to help them uncover their unique value while sharing proven techniques for communicating that value through the most effective online channels. By following the steps provided, CPAs will be able to enhance their professional reputation and allow their firm to thrive in the digital age.
Technical Marketing Communication, Second Edition by ISBN: 9781637424346Publication Date: 2022-12-31This book is written to help professionals take action. Each chapter describes concepts and tips that apply to a variety of industries. This book is especially beneficial to the following readers: Marketing professionals promoting technical features and benefits of products or services will gain insight into technical communication and how to integrate complex information into promotional efforts. Managers working with writers and designers will learn terminology and principles that will help you evaluate marketing materials and provide detailed feedback.
Thriving As a Minority-Owned Business in Corporate America by ISBN: 9781484272398Publication Date: 2022-01-08Thriving as a Minority-Owned Business in Corporate America offers you a comprehensive guide to current practical knowledge of minority business development, from grants and loans to market building. This book demonstrates how you can use specific laws, institutions, and new technologies to set up and steer your business to success.
- A-Z International Business This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive country-by-country information about business culture, logistics, marketing, communications, money, transportation, and other international business resources.
- Business & Economics AVON Academic Videos Online - ASP This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online collection that provides access to video content related to business and economics.
- Business Source Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics along with Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Company Profiles.
- Business Source Complete SWOT & Company Info EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Features a useful browse option for Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, Company Profiles, and more.
- Crain's Chicago Business EBSCO This link opens in a new windowPresents feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago from 1993 through the present. Once connected, select "Search within this publication."
- Marketing Strategy AVON Academic Videos Online - ASP This link opens in a new windowThis video collection covers marketing strategies with content spanning from the 1990s to contemporary marketing tips.
- Nexis Uni - Companies This link opens in a new windowThe Companies page of Nexis Uni includes company profiles, industry analyst reports, and detailed information on mergers, acquisitions and divestitures for companies around the world. It also features Nexis' Company Dossier where users can create lists of companies for analysis and comparisons. NOTE: If you get a security message blocking your access, call Oakton Library Reference 847.635.1644.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
- Supply Chain Management AVON Academic Videos Online - ASP This link opens in a new windowVideo channel within AVON Academic Videos Online that features over 200 videos covering supply chain issues and management.
- Bloomberg BusinessweekConnecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information.
- Entrepreneur MagazineEntrepreneur magazine is the trusted source for growing your business and offers surefire strategies for success. Whether you are just thinking of starting a business, have taken the first steps, or already own a business, Entrepreneur offers the best advice on running your own company.
- ForbesThis business magazine covers domestic and international business topics. Special issues include Annual Report on American Industry, Forbes 500, Stock Bargains, and Special Report on Multinationals.
- Inc.Successfully start, grow, innovate, and lead your business today: Ideas, resources, advice, support, tools, strategies, real stories, and real business.
Current News Resources
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- CNBCCNBC is the world leader in business news and real-time financial market coverage.
- Yahoo! Business Finance, Stock Market and NewsAt Yahoo Finance, you get free stock quotes, up-to-date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, social interaction and mortgage.