Social Justice and Environmental Justice Guides
Academic Databases
Below are some of Oakton Library's databases where you can find peer-reviewed articles. Click the photograph above to access a full A to Z list of the library's databases.
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Peer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
Peer-reviewed Sources
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are written by experts for an audience who desires to explore a topic in-depth. These articles often contain specialized language. These articles are reviewed by a group of experts in the field prior to publication to ensure that both the methods and conclusions are accurate. These articles are often longer and cite extensive references. They are generally published by university presses, or professional associations.
Most databases allow you to limit your search to include "peer-reviewed" articles only. Oftentimes, in a general list of resources, these articles will show that they are peer-reviewed, or from an academic journal. Many professors will require you to use peer-reviewed articles because of their research depth and their lengthy vetting process.
Some examples of peer-reviewed journals from the Oakton Whole Library (O.W.L.):
Popular, Professional, and Peer-reviewed
OWL
O.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library)
Here's a link to OWL:
https://i-share-oak.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01CARLI_OAK:CARLI_OAK&lang=en
Social and Environmental Justice Databases and Journals
-
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability This link opens in a new windowArticles on key concepts and core beliefs of sustainability, the practices and methods to achieve it - and the ways in which different areas of the world adopt them or not. After signing in, you must select a Berkshire volume to either browse or search.
-
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. -
Chicago Defender NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text Chicago Defender articles from 2008 to the present. Includes a calendar with links to available issues.
-
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media This link opens in a new windowOffers critical examinations of the role of the print and electronic media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of masculinity and femininity in our society, and introduces media and feminist theorists in the social sciences, humanities, and visual studies (including cinema studies and new media).
-
Environmental Studies in Video – Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of hours of film about various areas of environmental studies. Some environmental areas of study include ethics, law, planning, science, economics, and sociology.
-
History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.
-
Holocaust and Genocide Studies - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowHolocaust and Genocide Studies is an international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities.
-
Human Rights Studies Online - Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowProvides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.