Background information ... what do you know about your topic?
When you start a research project, you need to get a sense of what’s already been said (or written) about your topic. We call this kind of overview background information.
Examples of background information that can help kickstart your research include basic facts, key words, history, leading issues, descriptions, and concepts.
Think of background information as a research building block or foundation. Background information can help you locate suitable keywords for searching databases and identify more specific research topics suitable for your writing assignment in SOC 101.
Explore topics & gather background information
Look up your topic in Credo Reference
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles. Watch the video below for search tips and features.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- Help guide for Opposing ViewpointsThis is Oakton Library's in-house guide to getting the most out of the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Help guide for CQ ResearcherThis is Oakton Library's in-house guide to getting the most out of the CQ Researcher database.
- A-Z Databases: Facts and EncyclopediasNeed more options for conducting background research on your topic?
Oakton Library has additional databases suitable for conducting research in a wide range of subjects.