Your Federal Depository Library
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
National Center for Education Statistics: What's New
Essential Titles
The essential titles list is a collection of U.S. Government information resources containing critical information that the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) plans to continue disseminating in tangible format in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).
While an online format is now the primary method of making publications available to Federal depository libraries, there are specific titles that are to remain available for selection in paper or other tangible format as long as the issuing agencies continue to publish the titles. These resources are core U.S. Government publications and serve as important reference publications.
The list was developed using input provided by the Federal depository library community, which makes it a valuable aid in building a collection. Everything on the list has been identified by the depository community as a key resource.
Note: There is no requirement that depository libraries select any of the titles on the list.
Selection Limitations
The following publications feature selection limitations:
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Limited to regional depository libraries and one designated library in each state without a regional.
Bound Congressional Record
Limited to regional depository libraries and one designated library in each state without a regional.
Supreme Court Decisions (slip opinions)
Limited to regional depository libraries and law libraries.
Essential Titles List
This list reflects the selection of Essential titles by Oakton Community College, Complete List of Essential Titles for Public Use in Paper or Other Tangible Format can be found on Federal Depository Library Program website.
Last updated: April 22, 2015 -- published: November 24, 2008
| Handbook of North American Indians | SI 1.20/2: | 0909-D-01 | P |
| Green Book (Committee on Ways and Means) | Y 4.W 36:10-4/ | 1028-A-01 | EL |
| Foreign Relations of the U.S. | S 1.1: | 0872-B-01 | EL |
| Senate Journal | X JS: | 1047-A | P |
| Condition of Education | ED 1.109: | 0461-A-30 | EL |
| Economic Indicators | Y 4.EC 7:EC 7 | 0997-A | EL |
| Congressional Record (full-text -Daily Digest) (database) Paper and microfiche editions of the Daily Digest are included in Congressional Record (daily) above. | X 1.1/A: | 0994-D | EL |
| Congressional Directory | Y 4.P 93/1:1 | 0992-A-01 | EL |
| Harmonized Tariff Schedule of U.S. | ITC 1.10: | 0982-B-04 | EL |
| U.S. Government Manual | AE 2.108/2: | 0577-A-01 | EL |
| Social Security Bulletin | SSA 1.22: | 0523-A-06 | EL |
| Health US | HE 20.7042/6: | 0483-A-21 | EL |
| United States Code | Y 1.2/5: | 0991-A-01 | EL |
| Constitution of the United States - Analysis and Interpretation | Y 1.1/3: | 1004-E-02 | EL |
| Letters of Delegates to Congress - 1774-1789 | LC 1.34: | 0785-D-01 | EL |
| United States Reports | JU 6.8: | 0741-A | EL |
| List of Sections Affected | AE 2.106/2-2:(cum) | 0573-H-01 | EL |
| Supreme Court Decisions (slip opinions) | JU 6.8/B: | 0740-A | EL |
| Treaties in Force | S 9.14: | 0900-A-02 | EL |
| Public Papers of the President | AE 2.114: | 0574-A-02 | EL |
| Economic Report of the President | PR 43.9: | 0848-F-01 | EL |
| World Factbook | PREX 3.15: | 0856-A-18 | EL |
| Digest of Education Statistics | ED 1.140: | 0461-D-30 | EL |
| Code of Federal Regulations | AE 2.106/3: | 0572-B-01 | EL |
| Occupational Outlook Handbook | L 2.3/4: | 0768-D-02 | EL |
| Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) | C 3.223/18: | 0159-H-01 thru 0159-H-53 | EL |
| Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) | C 3.223/5: | 0159-G-01 thru 0159-G-53 | EL |
| Economic Census - Manufacturing: Subject Series | C 3.24/12: | 0135-A-01 | EL |
| Economic Census - Construction: Subject Series | C 3.245/8: | 0133-D-04 | EL |
| Economic Census - Mining: Subject Series | C 3.216/4: | 0158-A | EL |
| North American Industry Classification System Manual (NAICS) | PREX 2.6/4-2: | 0854-A-09 | EL |
| Census of Population and Housing: Socia & Economic & Housing Characteristics (Outlying Areas) | C 3.223/23-2: | 0156-O-54 | EL |
| Federal Register | AE 2.106: | 0573-F | EL |
| House Journal | XJH: | 1030-B-02 | EL |
| Statutes at Large | AE 2.111: | 0576-A | EL |
| Budget of the United States Government | PREX 2.8:/1 | 0853-C-01 | EL |
| Congressional Record (daily - including biweekly index) | X 1.1/A: | 0994-B-01 | EL |
| Internal Revenue Bulletin (weekly) | T 22.23: | 0957-A-02 | EL |
| Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance | PREX 2.20: | 0853-A-09 | EL |
| Agricultural Statistics | A 1.47: | 0001-A-01 | EL |
| Agricultural Statistics | A 1.47: | 0001 | P |
| Agricultural Statistics | A 1.47/2: | 0001-A | CD |
| Budget of the United States Government | PREX 2.8: | 0853 | P |
| Budget of the United States Government | PREX 2.8/1: | 0853-C | CD |
| Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance | PREX 2.20: | 0853-A-01 | P |
| Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) | C 3.223/5: | 0159-C-01 thru 0159-C-53 | P |
| Census of Population and Housing: Social & Economic & Housing Characteristics (Outlying Areas) | C 3.223/23-2: | 0156-M-54 | P |
| Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) | C 3.223/18: | 0159-B-01 thru 0159-B-53 | P |
| Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social & Economic & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) | C 3.223/23: | 0156-M-01 thru 0156-M-53 | P |
| Code of Federal Regulations | AE 2.106/3-2: | 0572 | P |
| Code of Federal Regulations | AE 2.106/3: | 0572-B | P |
| Condition of Education | ED 1.109: | 0461-A-12 | P |
| Congressional Directory | Y 4.P 93/1:1 | 0992 | P |
| Congressional Record (daily - including biweekly index) | X 1.1/A: | 0994-B | P |
| Congressional Record (final bound edition - Index and Daily Digest) | X 1.1: | 0993-B | P |
| Congressional Record (final bound edition) | X 1.1: | 0993-A-01 | P |
| Constitution of the United States - Analysis and Interpretation | Y 1.1/3: | 1004-E-01 | P |
| Digest of Education Statistics | ED 1.140: | 0461-D-29 | P |
| Economic Census - Construction: Subject Series | C 3.245/8: | 0133-D-03 | P |
| Economic Census - Manufacturing: Subject Series | C 3.24/12: | 0135 | P |
| Economic Census - Mining: Subject Series | C 3.216/4: | 0158 | P |
| Economic Indicators | Y 4.EC 7:EC 7 | 0997 | P |
| Economic Report of the President | PR 43.9: | 0848-F | P |
| Federal Register | AE 2.106: | 0573-C | P |
| Foreign Relations of the U.S. | S 1.1: | 0872-B | P |
| Green Book (Committee on Ways and Means) | Y 4.W 36:10-4/ | 1028-A-04 | P |
| Harmonized Tariff Schedule of U.S. | ITC 1.10: | 0982-B-02 | P |
| Harmonized Tariff Schedule of U.S. | ITC 1.10/4: | 0982-B-03 | CD |
| Health US | HE 20.7042/6: | 0483-A-19 | P |
| House Journal | X JH: | 1030-A | P |
| House Journal | XJH: | 1030-B-01 | CD |
| Internal Revenue Bulletin (weekly) | T 22.23: | 0957 | P |
| Letters of Delegates to Congress - 1774-1789 | LC 1.34: | 0785-D | P |
| List of Sections Affected | AE 2.106/2: | 0573-G | P |
| North American Industry Classification System Manual (NAICS) | PREX 2.6/4: | 0854-A-08 | P |
| Occupational Outlook Handbook | L 2.3/4: | 0768-C-02 | P |
| Public Papers of the President | AE 2.114: | 0574-A | P |
| Social Security Bulletin | SSA 1.22: | 0523-A-05 | P |
| Statutes at Large | AE 2.111: | 0576 | P |
| Supreme Court Decisions (slip opinions) | JU 6.8/B: | 0740-A-02 | P |
| Treaties in Force | S 9.14: | 0900-A | P |
| U.S. Government Manual | AE 2.108/2: | 0577 | P |
| U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements | S 9.12: | 0899-A | P |
| United States Code | Y 1.2/5: | 0991-A | P |
| United States Code | Y 1.2/5-2: | 0991-B | CD |
| United States Congressional Serial Set (bound edition) | Y 1.1/2: | 1008-F | P |
| United States Reports | JU 6.8: | 0741 | P |
| United States. Congress. Publications. (Congressional publications including reports & documents & hearings & and prints) | Y 4. | Various | P/MF/EL |
| World Factbook | PREX 3.15: | 0856-A-07 | P |