Your Federal Depository Library
Veterans and Military Personnel and Families
- USA.gov for U.S. Military Personnel and VeteransUSA.gov for U.S. Military Personnel and Veterans includes official information and services from the U.S. government.
- U.S. Department of Veterans AffairsThe U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs offers links to Veterans Services, including health care, benefits, and memorials; Partner Organizations; and a directory of Veterans Service Organizations.
- The Vietnam-Era Prisoner-of-War/Missing-in-Action DatabaseThis database is designed to assist researchers in accessing U.S. Government documents pertaining to U.S. unaccounted-for military personnel from the Vietnam conflict as of December 1991.
Government Spending
Introduction
Are you a college student looking for financial aid or a teacher looking for a lesson plan? Are you an older adult wanting more information about benefits or a parent wanting educational activities for kids? Are you an immigrant preparing for citizenship or a veteran returning to civilian life? Are you a consumer just looking for information to make your daily life a little bit easier? Then look no further. You may find the answers to your questions by checking out government information resources. Need a little more help? Ask a Librarian. We are here to help.
College Students
- College NavigatorCollege Navigator is a free consumer information tool designed to help students, parents, high school counselors, and others get information about over 7000 colleges and universities in the United States.
- FAFSA Application - Federal Student AidUse the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) form to apply for financial aid for college or graduate school.
- Federal School Code SearchSearch for or verify a Federal School Code when completing your Free Applications for Federal Student Aid.
- Ed.govEd.gov includes useful information about finding and paying for college.
Faculty
- U.S. Copyright OfficeHere you will find information about our online registration option and other news about reengineering; all our key publications including informational circulars; application forms for copyright registration; links to the copyright law and to the homepages of other copyright-related organizations; a link to our online copyright records cataloged since 1978; news of what the Office is doing, including business process reengineering plans, Congressional testimony, and press releases.
- Public Sector Retirement SystemsPew Charitable Trusts provides research on the fiscal challenges that states and cities face as a result of their unsustainable pension and retiree health promises. The project also offers technical assistance to states and municipalities as they undertake pension and retiree health care reforms.
Consumers
- Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseThe Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about label ingredients in more than 4,000 selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to compare label ingredients in different brands.
Claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. - Investor.govInformation is the investor’s best tool when it comes to investing wisely. Learn more about getting smart about investing, testing your “Money Smarts,” find out about questions to ask about investing as well as investing online.
- Children's PrivacyAbout the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA), which gives parents control over what information websites can collect from their kids.
- ChooseMyPlate.govChooseMyPlate.gov provides practical information to individuals, health professionals, nutrition educators, and the food industry to help consumers build healthier diets with resources and tools for dietary assessment, nutrition education, and other user-friendly nutrition information.
Older Adults and Seniors
- Eldercare.govPublic service of the Administration on Aging, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This listing presents federal Web sites that offer valuable information on a range of critical eldercare issues.
- Medicare.govThe Official U.S. Government Site for Medicare. Includes a resource locator and information about drug plans, facilities and doctors, and staying healthy.
Immigrants
- Immigration and Citizenship - USAGovLearn about U.S. residency, green cards, citizenship requirements, and related issues.