Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
Finding Books - Search OWL
Search OWL (Oakton's Whole Library)
Use the OWL link!
You can search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
Searching for books in the Library's Catalog
Search over 100,000 books in the Library's Catalog and books from 127 Illinois college and university libraries in the I-Share Catalog.
Finding Facts in Oakton's Online Reference Collection
Oakton College's Library maintains a large electronic and print collection of reference materials providing factual information or directing students to further sources. Such materials include, but are not limited to: encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, handbooks, directories, style manuals, and bibliographies. Below are databases for locating facts.
Use your myOakton user name and password to open these resources.
Credo Reference
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Facts on File - Infobase databases
- Infobase / Facts on File All Resources This link opens in a new windowLinks to the Infobase / Facts on File databases available at Oakton.
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new windowExplores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.
- Modern World History Online This link opens in a new windowCovers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present.
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.