Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
How do I find magazine, newspaper and journal articles at Oakton?
The Oakton Library offers access to articles in thousands of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Most of these articles are available online through subscriptions to library databases. There are some print materials available in the browsing collection at each campus. The browsing collection includes daily newspapers and popular magazines.
Access to the online collection of articles is easy.
On-campus computers will open any library database with just a click on the database name.
For off campus access, library users will need to enter their myOakton user name and password when prompted.
Library databases are available for use 24/7.
Academic Search Complete - A go-to database with a bit of everything
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
Pro-Con Article Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Explore all Oakton Library Databases
Oakton Library has more than 200 article and information databases.
Explore the list of databases with the A-Z List link below.
If you're not sure where to start
- stop by the library and ask a librarian
- use Chat with a Librarian
- make an Appointment for research help.