LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Home

Getting Started with Early Childhood Education

Teachers and educators play an essential role in the lives of their students. Early childhood education professionals are particularly vital. Their efforts can instill an interest and love of learning in young children and can help determine the educational path their students take later in life.

This guide is designed to support students, educators, and professionals in the field of early childhood education by providing access to a comprehensive collection of resources. Explore a variety of tools, including books, journals, and databases, to enhance your understanding and practice in early childhood education.

Early Childhood Education Program at Oakton

At Oakton, we're proud to offer an Early Childhood Education Program to train and prepare students for this important job. We offer a diverse set of study options so you can choose the path that best suits you, your interests and your goals.

Our Early Childhood Education Program will educate you to assist infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and early school-age children in group situations. You'll receive hands-on instruction in college-affiliated, nationally accredited early childhood education centers that serve as field sites.

We offer several stackable certificates, starting with as few as six courses to complete through an Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree, to prepare you for a range of teaching positions from infancy through early school age. Our classes will give you the foundation to start or build upon a career, while our advisors and faculty will help ensure you complete the necessary coursework and field experiences to get your credentials. For more information, please visit their website.

Career Exploration & Preparation

Explore the resources below, including insights from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), detailed job profiles from Ferguson's Career Guidance Center, and occupational outlooks from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is a government agency that provides data on the American economy, with a focus on employment and labor. It collects and analyzes data on employment, unemployment, wages, prices, and productivity.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, and more than 55,000 career resource entries.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information to people making decisions about their future work lives, including training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions in a variety of occupations.
LearningExpress PrepStep for Colleges This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and computer basics. LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges: Core Math, Science, English, Computer, and College Success Skills; High School Equivalency, Placement, and ACT-SAT; Test Preparation; Career Preparation; Recursos Para Hispanohablantes.