LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Resources for Early Childhood Educators

Library Resources

Key Education Resources

Databases
Websites

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.

Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.

Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO

Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
Education Professional Development - EBSCO

Provides specialized collection of information for professional educators, librarians, and education researchers on pedagogical theory and practice.
ERIC Education Resources - EBSCO

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
Primary Search - EBSCO

Includes more than 70 full-text popular, elementary school magazines for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms.
PsycArticles - EBSCO

Includes more than 163,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations.
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO

Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
Teaching Methods (Academic Video Online) - Alexander Street Press

Features video content related to the principles and methods used by teachers to enable student learning. Includes a variety of subject-specific teaching methods and audience types from early childhood education and beyond.

Common Sense Media
Common Sense Media is a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the lives of kids and families by providing trustworthy information, education, and independent voice they need to thrive in the 21st century.
Early Childhood (Illinois State Board of Education)
The Early Childhood department provides leadership and technical assistance to support state programs serving children prenatal to age 8, and their families. Services provided include state Prevention Initiative, Preschool For All, and Expansion Grants, as well as the Federal Expansion Grant, and a variety of resources for parents, teachers and administrators.
Early Childhood Professional Learning (ECPL)
ECPL provides professional learning opportunities and resources for the Illinois Early Childhood workforce, especially those working in state funded programs. Learn here about free access to the WIDA Early Years online learning modules that support Preschool English Learners.
Golden Corridor Association for the Education of Young Children (GoAEYC)
GOAEYC serves all of Lake County and the following Townships of Cook County; Barrington Township, Hanover Township, Palatine Township, Schaumburg Township, Wheeling Township, Elk Grove Township, Northfield Township, Maine Township, Leyden Township, New Trier Township, Niles Township, Norwood Park and Evanston.
Illinois Association for the Education of Young Children (ILEAEYC)
Illinois AEYC advances high quality learning for all children birth through age 8 by promoting practice, policy and research to support all families and professionals.
Illinois Early Learning Project
The Illinois Early Learning Project is a source of evidence-based, reliable information on early care and education for families, caregivers, and teachers of young children in Illinois.
Illinois Network of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies (INCCRRA)
INCCRRA is a statewide organization which – in partnership with its 16 local Child Care Resources and Referral (CCR&R) agencies – works to make high quality, affordable early care and education and school-age care options available for children and families in Illinois.
Lesson Plans from Education.com
Award winning educational materials designed to help early learners succeed.
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
NAEYC works to promote high-quality early learning for all young children, birth through age 8, by connecting early childhood practice, policy, and research.
National Education Association (NEA)
NEA has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States.