Finding statistics
You can find statistics in many of our library databases.
Helpful Hints:
- Sometimes statistics are buried within the text of a journal, magazine, book, or newspaper. As you research, take the time to skim through your findings to discover potential sources of statistics. Follow leads in the articles to locate other statistics.
- Look at graphs, charts, and diagrams to find statistical information.
- Sometimes statistics are hidden within other articles but can't simply be found by searching the word "statistics." When searching library databases, combine your topic search with a subject search for statistics.
- Academic journals often contain statistics to back up any research that is done.
Search Words - try these keywords or subject terms with your topic searches to focus on statistics:
Statistics - Data - Numbers - Trends - Polling - Figures - Tables - Charts - Graphs
Search Examples:
- Immigration AND Statistics
- Climate change AND Trends
(part of above courtesy of Modesto Junior College)
Library databases focused on statistics
Some of our library databases specifically contain statistics, as listed below:
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowProvides data that relates to the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. Includes over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
Some of our library databases containing material with statistics
Many of our library databases include statistics in some way. Use the tips listed here to find stats and data in these sources:
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.