It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A resource guide for art and design students and others looking for resources for the practical creation of artwork and the study of materials and techniques. For art history and theory resources see the Art History LibGuide.
The Film Photography Podcast is the podcast arm of the Film Photography Project. According to their about page, "Since 2009, our mission has been to inspire, engage and inform beginning and professional film photographers and movie-makers around the globe through our internet radio show, the Film Photography Podcast., YouTube Channel and Blogs. We share dependable product reviews, tutorials, and tips that deconstruct the complex without dumbing down the content, providing tools that expand skills while supporting your creative output, experiences and passion for film photography."
Photography and Film
How to Read Cinematography explains how to analyze the technical aspects of film clips in this engaging video.
Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Photoshop choose Adobe Photoshop CC Classroom in a Book (2019 release) from Adobe Press. The 15 project-based lessons show key step-by-step techniques for working in Photoshop, including how to correct, enhance, and distort digital images, create image composites, and prepare images for print and the web. In addition to learning the essential elements of the Photoshop interface, this revised edition for the 2019 release covers features like the new Frame tool, designing reflected and radial art with Paint Symmetry, correcting mistakes with updated Undo, Navigating the redesigned Home screen, removing objects with upgraded Content-Aware Fill, saving time with simplified editing and transformations, and much more! The online companion files include all the necessary assets for readers to complete the projects featured in each chapter. All buyers of the book get full access to the Web Edition: A Web-based version of the complete ebook enhanced with video and multiple-choice quizzes.
The fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Lightroom in conjunction with Adobe Photoshop. Classroom in a Book®, the best-selling series of hands-on software training workbooks, offers what no other book or training program does-an official training series from Adobe Systems Incorporated, developed with the support of Adobe product experts. Adobe Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC for Photographers Classroom in a Book contains 9 lessons that cover the basics and beyond, providing countless tips and techniques to help you become more productive with the programs. You can follow the book from start to finish or choose only those lessons that interest you. Purchasing this book includes valuable online extras. Follow the instructions in the book's "Getting Started" section to unlock access to: Downloadable lesson files you need to work through the projects in the book Web Edition containing the complete text of the book, interactive quizzes, videos that walk you through the lessons step by step, and updated material covering new feature releases from Adobe Using Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC together can dramatically speed your workflow and decrease editing time. This book teaches you exactly when to use each program and how to pass images back and forth between them at the highest possible quality. You'll learn how to import, organize, correct and add creative color effects in Lightroom using global and local editing tools, as well as how to merge multiple exposures and stitch panoramas. In Photoshop, you'll learn practical techniques for combining photos, pro-level retouching, creating precise selections, masking, turning a photo into a painting and pencil sketch, and adding creative blur effects. Back in Lightroom, you'll learn how to show off your masterpieces by exporting them en masse, sharing via social media, creating fine art-style signed print layouts, slideshows, photo book, and web gallery projects.
Does the making of films---a group activity---permit anything that can be called self-expression ? Can a director, as the conductor of an orchestra of writers, actors, cameramen and technicians, stamp his personal vision on the fils that he makes. This and related questions are raised by this collection of statements made by famous directors about their art.
The AFI Archive collects and preserves the heritage of the American Film Institute, filmmakers and the art of motion pictures. Housed in the Louis B. Mayer Library, the Archive comprises over 50 years of rare and unique materials from across the history of cinema and television.
Concentrating on British titles, BFI carefully selects material for their collections, preserving, restoring and interpreting it to ensure British film heritage is widely accessible in cinemas and in the home.
The Library of Congress began collecting motion pictures in 1893 when Thomas Edison and his brilliant assistant W.K.L. Dickson deposited the Edison Kinetoscopic Records for copyright. However, because of the difficulty of safely storing the flammable nitrate film used at the time, the Library retained only the descriptive material relating to motion pictures.
The National Center for Jewish Film is a unique, independent nonprofit motion picture archive, distributor, resource center and exhibitor. NCJF's ongoing mission is the collection, preservation and exhibition of films with artistic and educational value relevant to the Jewish experience and the dissemination of these materials to the widest possible audience. NCJF exclusively owns the largest collection of Jewish content film in the world, outside of Israel. The Center's 15,000 reels of feature films, documentaries, newsreels, home movies and institutional films date from 1903 to the present.