Sculpture and Ceramics
Sculpture and Ceramics Books
Beyond Modern Sculpture by ISBN: 9780807607152Publication Date: 1968Examines the materialistic and psychological factors responsible for dominant trends in twentieth-century sculpture.
The Big Book of Ceramics by ISBN: 0823005089Publication Date: 1994In this exhaustive introduction to ceramics, all the materials, equipment, and techniques of the craft are presented clearly and accessibly. An easy-to-follow text is accompanied by hundreds of color photographs and schematic drawings that illustrate every material, technique, piece of equipment, and step-by-step demonstration. The book begins with a history of ceramics that covers techniques and styles from various periods and parts of the world. Then clays and glazes are introduced, with details on the diffrent types and their compositions, as well as instruction on how to prepare them. Next, kilns, kiln furniture, potters' wheels, and other equipment and tools are illustrated and thier uses demonstrated. The core of the book is dedicated to presenting the full range of ceramic techniques: hand-building, molding, throwing, glazing, and firing. In the final section, step-by-step projects show how to employ these techniques to create a variety of vessles and sculptural forms.
The Ceramic Glaze Handbook by ISBN: 1579902022Publication Date: 2001"This well-illustrated handbook...covers glaze chemistry, application techniques, firing, and problem solving. Color photographs comparing fired samples are particularly good. A collection of formulas by other artists is categorized by type of clay body and firing temperature. Useful for studio potters and hobbyists, this book belongs in general arts and crafts sections."--Library Journal.
- The Encyclopedia of Sculpture Techniques via Archive.org
Online viewable PDF of the 2001 sculpture technique guide by John W. Mills.
Sculpture and Ceramics Links
- American Ceramic CircleTHE AMERICAN CERAMIC CIRCLE (ACC) was founded in 1970 as a non-profit educational organization committed to the study and appreciation of ceramics. Its purpose is to promote scholarship and research in the history, use, and preservation of ceramics of all kinds, periods, and origins.
- Henry Moore Sculpture ArchiveThe Henry Moore Archive is the most extensive collection of material relating to Henry Moore. The archive contains over three quarters of a million items which illuminate his life works and practice.
- The Judd Foundation ArchivesJudd Foundation Archives contain rich visual and textual documentation of Donald Judd’s life and work. The Archives include: published and unpublished writings, correspondence, photographs, moving image material, drawings, museum, gallery and exhibition files, exhibition ephemera, and publications.
- The Rodin Museum ArchivesThe artist who is also a collector, archivist, curator and custodian of his own works has become a familiar figure over the last few years. Rodin was a perfect example. Probably through intuition rather than reflection, he knew how important the things that made up his daily universe would be to the understanding of his oeuvre. He thus kept everything.The tens of thousands of handwritten or printed documents, the books and periodicals that he donated to the French nation at the same time as his sculptures and collections, vividly recall more than 70 years of Rodin’s private, social and artistic life. Thanks to these documents,we gain insight into the very heart of his creative process.
- Sculpture Magazine ArchiveThe International Sculpture Center (ISC) is a member-supported, nonprofit organization founded in 1960 to champion the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique, vital contribution to society. Members include sculptors, collectors, patrons, architects, developers, journalists, curators, historians, critics, educators, foundries, galleries, and museums—anyone with an interest in and commitment to the field of sculpture. Sculpture Magazine is published by the ISC.