Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oakton Authors: 1980s

1980-1984

1980

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Trustee Characteristics and Decision Making Among Suburban and Rural Community College Trustees.” Community/Junior College Research Quarterly 4.3 (Apr.-June 1980): 249-262. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Trustee Characteristics and Decision Making Among Suburban and Rural Community College Trustees.” Community/Junior College Research Quarterly 4.3 (Apr.-June 1980): 249-262. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Perceptions of Women’s Roles among Community College Women.” Psychology of Women Quarterly 4:4 (Summer 1980): 492-507. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. School-Community Communication: School Board Members and Their Constituents. Washington, D.C.: National School Boards Assn., 1980. Print.

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Politics, Programs, and Local Governments: The Case of Community Colleges.” Journal of Politics 42.1 (Jan. 1980): 150-164. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “Charlie and the Six Chicks.” Plays 39.7 (Apr. 1980): 9-22. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Wickremeratne, Swarna, and H. L. Seneviratne. "Bodhipuja: Collective Representations of Sri Lanka Youth." American Ethnologist 7.4 (Nov. 1980): 734-743. Print.

1981

Bers, Trudy Haffron, and Susan Gluck Mezey. “Support for Feminist Goals among Leaders of Women’s Community Groups.” Signs 6.4 (Summer 1981): 737-748. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “Space Suit with Roses.” Space and Science Fiction Plays for Young People: A Collection of One-Act, Royalty-Free Dramas, Comedies, Melodramas, Skits, and Creative Dramatics Programs. Ed. Sylvia E. Kamerman. Boston: Plays, 1981. Print.

Kirby, Emily B. "Petticoats to Jackhammers: Strategies for Women in Occupational Education." Women in Community Colleges. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1981. 43-53. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 34. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Koehnline, William A. "The Marriage of the Humanities and the Trades." Occupational Education Today. Ed. Kathleen F. Arns. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1981. 77-84. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 33. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Korbel, Linda A. "The Best of Both Worlds: A Combination of Individualized, Self-Paced Instruction with the Traditional Classroom Approach in Core French Classes." Directory of Teaching Innovations in Foreign Languages. Ed. L. R. Meeth and Dean. S. Gregory. Arlington, VA: Studies in Higher Education, 1981. 71-72. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1982

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “District Ecology and Citizen Educators: The Recruitment and Election of Community College Trustees.” Social Science Journal 19.1 (Jan. 1982): 73-87. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “Space Suit with Roses.” Plays 41 (May 1982): 1-11. Print.

Katz, William B. "Prevention." Hazardous Materials Spills Handbook. Ed. Gary F. Bennett, Frank S. Feates, and Ira Wilder. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1982. 6.20-6.24. Print.

Klein, George C. "Let's Not Be Lecturing on Navigation While the Ship Is Going Down: On the Creation of Public Interest Sociology." American Sociologist 17 (Aug. 1982): 120-136. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1983

Borowski, Joseph F. “The Challenge.” Community & Junior College Libraries 1 (1983): 1-2. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Burton, Robert, and Donald Drake. “Cooperatives: How the Northern Illinois Learning Resources Cooperative Makes 1+1=3.” Community & Junior College Libraries 1.4 (1983): 17-21. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Friend, Beverly Oberfeld. “Popular Culture.” Women’s Annual 1982-1983. Ed. Barbara Haber. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall & Co., 1983. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Zimanzl, Thomas A. “An Overview of Cognitive Characteristics of Field-Dependence-Independence in Learning Styles.” Community & Junior College Libraries 1.4 (1983): 67-79. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1984

Doll, Susan, and Christopher Lyon. The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Michigan: Gale, 1984-1987. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Fortune, Gwen Y. “The Surinamese Maroons and Their Tradition of Independence.” Black Art: An International Quarterly 5.4 (1984): 40-47. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “The Nerve of Napoleon.” Plays (Mar. 1984). Print. (Not verified)

Klein, George C. "Applied Sociology and Social Policy: Are We Reformers, Oppressors, Social Engineers, or Marginal Men? A Review of the Literature." Sociological Practice 5.1 (Winter 1984): 85-160. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Tracz, Richard Francis, and C. Jeriel Howard. Contact: A Textbook in Applied Communications. 4th ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1984. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

1985-1989

1985

Bers, Trudy H., and Terrence J. Sullivan. “Planetary Leadership: A Presentation in the Peripatetic Method of Effecting Change in a College—A Case Study in Management by Wandering Around.” Planning for Higher Education 13.4 (Summer 1985): 4-9. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Burton, Bob. “The Learning Resource Center: What’s in a Name?” Community & Junior College Libraries 3.4 (1985): 17-22. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Janosik, MaryAnn. “Window on the Irrational: A Historiography of the Salem Witch Trials.” Review (Spring 1985): 1-11. Print. (Not verified)

Katz, William B. "Fillpipe Spillage Protection for Underground Tanks." Oil and Petroleum Pollution 1985. (Not verified)

LeBlanc, Liz. No Mean Feet. Chicago: Ommation Press, 1985. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Maltese, Susan Miller. “A Report on Library Technical Assistant Programs.” Community & Junior College Libraries 33.3 (Spring 1985): 51-68. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Scheuermann, Mona. Social Protest in the Eighteenth-Century English Novel. Columbus, OH: Ohio State U P, 1985. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Sfondilias, John Steven. The Effects of Combining a Cognitive Routine Strategy and the Corrective Feedback Paradigm in a Computer-Based Lesson. Diss., U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1985. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI, 1985.

Tracz, Richard Francis, and C. Jeriel Howard. The Essential English Handbook and Rhetoric. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill Educational Pub., 1985. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Wittman, Sandra. “Profile of a Community College Library Branch: Skokie Campus, Oakton Community College (Illinois).” Community & Junior College Libraries 4.1 (1985): 67-73. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1986

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Confidence, Commitment, and Academic Performance and Retention of Community College Students.” Community/Junior College Quarterly of Research & Practice 10.1 (1986): 35-57. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. One-Act Dramas. Franklin, OH: Eldridge Pub. Co., 1986. Print.

Garver, Juliet. “Portrait of Jane.” Plays 45.6 (Apr. 1986): 48-52. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

LeBlanc, Liz. Cheap Entertainment. Chicago: Ommation Press, 1986. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Maltese, Susan M. “Response to the Paper HILC at Thirty-Four: A View from Within.” Coordinating Cooperative Collection Development: A National Perspective. Ed. Wilson Luquire. New York: Haworth Press, 1986. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Woloshin, Phyllis. “If You’re So Smart, Why Aren’t You Rich?” New Directions for Community Colleges 53 (Spring 1986): 81-86. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1987

Bers, Trudy H. “Evaluating Remedial Education Programs.” AIR Professional File 29. Assn. for Institutional Research, Apr. 1987. Print.

Bers, Trudy H. “Exploring Institutional Images through Focus Group Interviews.” New Directions for Institutional Research 54 (Summer 1987): 19-29. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry Smith. “College Choice and the Nontraditional Student.” Community College Review 15.1 (Summer 1987): 39-45. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy, and Kerry Smith. “Improving Alumni Survey Response Rates: An Experiment and Cost-Benefit Analysis.” Research in Higher Education 27.3 (1987): 218-225. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Mary Mittler. “Marketing Higher Education or a College Is Not a Tuna Fish Sandwich.” World Marketing Congress: Proceedings of the Third Bi-Annual International Conference of the Academy of Marketing Science. Barcelona, Spain, August 23-26, 1987. Ed. Kenneth D. Bahn and M. Joseph Sirgy. Blacksburg, VA: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State U, 1987. Print.

Burton, Robert. “Behind the Scenes at the First CCAIT Video Competition.” Community & Junior College Libraries 5.1 (1987): 13-18. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Doll, Susan, and Christopher Lyon. The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Michigan: Gale, 1984-1987. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Maor, Eli. To Infinity and Beyond: A Cultural History of the Infinite. Boston: Birkhauser, 1987. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Samar, Vincent J. "Buchanon Piece on AIDS Wrong in Fact and Logic." Editorial. Chicago Sun-Times 16 Dec. 1987: 36. Print.

Saret, Laura. Data Processing Logic. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1987. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

1988

Bers, Trudy H. “Student Major Choices and Community College Persistence.” Research in Higher Education 29.2 (1988): 161-173. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry Smith. “Focus Groups and Community College Research: Lessons from a Study of Nontraditional Students.” Community College Review 15.4 (Spring 1988): 52-58. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy. “Evaluating College Remedial/Developmental Programs: Results of a Cooperative Effort Among Community Colleges.” Community College Journal for Research and Planning 6.2 (1988): 34-39. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy, and Mary Mittler. “Academic Computing: From Chaos to Coordination.” Cause/Effect 11.2 (Mar. 1988): 28+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Borowski, Joseph F., Bernard Fradkin, and Margaret Holleman. “Producing a National Teleconference.” Community & Junior College Libraries 6.1 (1988): 15- 24. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Burton, Robert. “Collegiality and Competition: CCAIT Annual Video Contest.” Community & Junior College Libraries 6.1 (1988): 39-43. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Stryker, John, contributor. "Jesse Barfield: Toronto Blue Jays," "Darrell Evans: Detroit Tigers," "Chicago Cubs: Hitting," and "Chicago Cubs: Pitching." Bill James Presents the Great American Baseball Stat Book. Bill James and Don Zminda. New York: Villard, 1988. 14, 92, 490, and 491, respectively. Print.  (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1989

Andino, Mario. Oratorio para herejes: Novela. New Brunswick, NJ: Slusa, 1989. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H., ed. Using Student Tracking Systems Effectively. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1989. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 66. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H. “The Popularity and Problems of Focus-Group Research.” College & University 64.3 (Spring 1989): 260-268. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Alan M. Rubin. “Tracking Students in Community Colleges: The Unreported Challenges.” Using Student Tracking Systems Effectively. Ed. Trudy H. Bers. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1989. 55-61. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 66. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room )

Bers, Trudy H. “Tracking Systems and Student Flow.” Using Student Tracking Systems Effectively. Ed. Trudy H. Bers. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1989. 3-7. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 66. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry Smith. “Parents and the College Choice Decisions of Community College Students.” College and University 64:4 (Summer 1989): 335-348. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Burton, Robert. “Of Competition and Compliments: CCAIT Annual Video Contest.” Community & Junior College Libraries 6.2 (1989): 53-59. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Doll, Susan. Elvis Presley, All Shook Up: The Effect of Ideology and Subculture on Star Image. Dissertation, Northwestern University. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI, 1989. Microfiche.

Doll, Susan. Elvis: A Tribute to His Life. Lincolnwood, IL: Publications International, 1989. Print.

Garver, Juliet. “Harvey the Hypochondriac.” The Big Book of Comedies: 25 One-Act Plays, Skits, Curtain Raisers, and Adaptations for Young Actors. Ed. Sylvia E. Kamerman. Boston: Plays, 1989. Print.

Katz, William B. "A New Pair of Eyes II: Looking at Dispersants from a Different Point of View." Oil Dispersants: New Ecological Approaches. Ed. L. Michael Flaherty. Philadelphia: ASTM, 1989. 179+. Print.

Fraenkel, Gideon, Judith Gallucci, and Howard Rosenzweig. "Efficient Preparation of cis-Vicinal Tertiary Diamines from 2-Hydroxyketones in Two Steps." Journal of Organic Chemistry 54.3 (1989): 677-681. Print.

Rosenzweig, H. S., and G. Fraenkel. "Efficient Synthesis of Cyclic Cis-Vicinal Tertiary Diamines." Patent 4,806,648. 12 Feb. 1989.

Shinkai, S., and H. Rosenzweig, et al. "Specific Inhibition of Flavin Catalysis by a Molecular Hinge." Tetrahedron Letters 30 (1989): 5895-5898. Print. (not verified)

Wittman, Sandra M. Writing About Vietnam: A Bibliography of the Literature of the Vietnam Conflict. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1989. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Subject Guide