Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oakton Authors: 1970s & previous

Through 1969 & Undated

1953

Garver, Juliet. Honest to Goodness. Cedar Rapids, IA: Art Craft Play Co., 1953. Print.

1954

Garver, Juliet. “Happy Valentine’s Day.” Plays 13.5 (Feb. 1954): 12-18. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1955

Garver, Juliet. “Turkey, Anyone?” Plays 15.2 (Nov. 1955): 41-50. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. A Young Girl’s Fancy. Minneapolis: T.S. Denison, 1955. Print.

1956

Garver, Juliet. “Father Hits the Jackpot.” Plays 15:7 (Apr. 1956). Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1957-1959

[None]

1960

Garver, Juliet. “Cave Man, Brave Man.” Plays 45.7 (May 1960): 17-26. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1961

Garver, Juliet. “Be-Bop and Beethoven.” Plays 21.1 (Oct. 1961): 1-12. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1963

Garver, Juliet. “My Fair Linda.” Plays 22.8 (May 1963): 1-13. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1965

Garver, Juliet. Father Lives with Seven Women. Franklin, OH: Eldridge Pub. Co., 1965. Print.

1968

Borowski, Joseph F. "A Comparison of the Reading Interests of Kankakee Senior High School Students with Those Revealed in Nationwide Surveys." Occasional Papers 92 (1968). Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Stanley, Robert, and William Kuhns. Exploring the Film. Dayton, OH: G.A. Pflaum, 1968. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

1969

Garver, Juliet. “Turkey Anyone?” Fifty Plays for Holidays: A Collection of Royalty-Free, One-Act Children’s Plays for Holidays and Special Occasions. Ed. Sylvia E. Kamerman. Boston: Plays, 1969. Print.

Stanley, Robert, ed. Interface: A Newsletter of Media Influences on Culture. New York: Herder & Herder, 1968-1969. (Not verified)

Undated

Borowski, J. F. “Instant Bibliographies.” Illinois Education: 336+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Borowski, Joseph F. “Central Audiovisual Resources.” Audiovisual Instruction: 84+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1970-1979

1970

Irlen, Harvey Stuart. “Toward Confronting Freshmen.” College Composition and Communication 21.1 (1970): 35-40. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Koehnline, William A., and Clyde E. Blocker. "The Division Chairman in the Community College." Junior College Journal 40.5 (Feb. 1970): 9-12. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Tracz, Richard Francis, and C. Jeriel Howard. The Responsible Man: Essays, Short Stories, Poems. San Francisco: Canfield Press, 1970. Print. (Owned by Oakton).

1971

[None]

1972

Conway, Thomas G. “Public Interest in the Indian.” Indian Historian 5.1 (Spring 1972): 37-44. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Conway, Thomas G. “Women’s Work in Ireland.” Eire-Ireland 7.1 (1972): 10-27. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Irlen, Harvey S. “Responsive Academic Structures.” ADE Bulletin (1972): 45- 47. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Salsedo, Andre J. Rev. of Custer Died for Your Sins, perf. Floyd Westerman, et al. Perception, 1970. LP. Syracuse New Times 5.17 (10 Feb. 1972): 10. Print.

Salsedo, Andre J. "War Resisters." Rev. of The New Exiles: American War Resisters in Canada, Roger Neville Williams. Syracuse New Times 5.16 (20 Jan. 1972): 10+. Print.

1973

Bers, Trudy H. Private Welfare Agencies and Their Role in Government-Sponsored Welfare Programs: The Case of the War on Poverty in Chicago. Diss., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI, 1973. Microfilm.

Garver, Juliet. Connie the Computer: A One-Act Play for Teenagers. Franklin, OH: Eldridge Pub. Co., 1973. Print.

Garver, Juliet. “For Love or Money.” Plays 32.8 (May 1973): 17+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. Connie the Computer: A One-Act Play for Teenagers. Franklin, OH: Eldridge Pub. Co., 1973. Print.

Irlen, Harvey S. “On the Sowing of Turnips.” Community College Frontiers 2.1 (1973): 3-4. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1974

Friend, Beverly. Science Fiction: The Classroom in Orbit. Glassboro, NJ: Educational Impact, 1974. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Garver, Juliet. “I Want to Talk to You.” Plays 33.6 (Mar. 1974): 85-87. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “The Money Tree.” Plays 33.7 (Apr. 1974): 28+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Koehnline, W. A. "Blood, Sweat, and Green Turnip Juice." From Class to Mass Learning. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1974. 55-63. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 5. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room: missing p. 63)

West, Rinda. “How Power Works.” Media & Methods 10.5 (1974): 24+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

1975

Friend, Beverly Oberfeld. The Science Fiction Fan Cult. Diss., Northwestern University. Ann Arbor, MI: Xerox U Microfilms, 1975. Microfilm. (Owned by Oakton)

Garver, Juliet. “Marla the Mechanic.” Plays (Apr. 1975). Print. (Not verified)

Helfgot, Steven R. “Student Development Faculty in the Interdisciplinary Learning Cluster.” Community College Frontiers 4.1 (1975): 23-25. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Koehnline, William A. "Learning Clusters: A Creative Alternative." Community College Frontiers 4.1 (Fall 1975): 26-31. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Scheuermann, Mona. The Novels of William Godwin and Those of His Contemporaries. New York: Arno Press, 1975. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Tracz, Richard Francis, and C. Jeriel Howard, ed. The Responsible Person. 2nd ed. San Francisco: Canfield Press, 1975. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

1976

Dolan, R. Edmund, and Mary L. Mittler. “The Cluster Dean: Innovation in Administration.” Changing Managerial Perspectives. Ed. Barry Heermann. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1976. 25-37. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 13. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Friend, Beverly. “The Sturgeon Connection.” Voices for the Future: Essays on Major Science Fiction Writers. Ed. Thomas D. Clareson. Bowling Green, OH: Bowling Green U Popular P, 1976. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

LeBlanc, Liz, and Liz Dacenko. Kwiksilver KatzChicago: Grassfield Press, 1976. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Mittler, Mary L., and R. Edmund Dolan. “The Cluster Dean: Innovation in Administration.” Changing Managerial Perspectives. Ed. Barry Heermann. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1976. 25-37. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 13. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room: see Dolan, R. Edmund)

Salsedo, Andre J. "Those Sweets May Be the Death of You." Rev. of  Nutrigenetics: New Concepts for Relieving Hypoglycemia, R.O. Brennan and William C. Mulligan. Berkeley Barb 552 (12-18 Mar. 1976): 12. Print.

1977

Friend, Beverly. “Virgin Territory: The Bonds and Boundaries of Women in Science Fiction.” Many Futures, Many Worlds: Theme and Form in Science Fiction. Ed. Thomas D. Clareson. Kent, OH: Kent State U P, 1977. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Garver, Juliet. Cyrano De Baseball: [A One Act Comedy]. Cedar Rapids, IA: Heuer Pub. Co., 1977. Print.

Garver, Juliet. Snowee White and the Seven Chicks. Cedar Rapids, IA: Heuer Pub. Co., 1977. Print.

Garver, Juliet. “Elizabeth.” Plays 37.1 (Oct. 1977): 71-77. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Katz, William B. "Fire Services and the Environment, or New Tricks for Old Dogs." Fire Engineering 1977. (Not verified)

Katz, William B. "Handling Flammable Product Spills Without Doing Environmental Damage." Fire Engineering (Aug. 1977) 36-40. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

LeBlanc, Liz. Moon Shots. Chicago: Grassfield Press, 1977. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Maloney, Michael Joseph. Effects of Two Human Development Course Models at a Community College. Diss., Loyola U of Chicago, 1977. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI, 1977, 1979. Print.  (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Salsedo, Andre J. Rev. of American Folk Medicine: A Symposium, ed. Wayland D. Hand. Medical Anthropology Newsletter 8.3 (May 1977): 22-23. Print.

1978

Bers, Trudy Haffron, and Mary Olson. “Faculty Opinions about Student Evaluation.” New Directions for Community Colleges 24 (Winter 1978): 77-86. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Student Perceptions of Teaching Techniques and Correlates of Course Performance in Introductory Social Science Courses.” Teaching Political Science 5.4 (July 1978): 421-436. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Local Political Elites: Men and Women on Boards of Education.” Western Political Quarterly 31.3 (Sept. 1978): 381-391. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Two Year College Students: A Preference for Passive Learning.” News for Teachers of Political Science 18 (Summer 1978). Print.

Friend, Beverly, and Philip Jose Farmer. “The Great Adventure.” Science Fiction: Contemporary Mythology. Ed. Patricia Warrick, Martin Harry Greenberg, and Joseph Olander.  New York: Harper & Row, 1978. Print.

Garver, Juliet. “A Howling Success.” Plays 37.7 (Apr. 1978). Print.

Koehnline, William A. "A Public Community College in a System of Systems." Balancing State and Local Control. Ed. Searle F. Charles. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1978. 43-48. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 23. (Owned by Oakton)

Koehnline, William, and C. William Brubaker. "Trends in Community College Planning and Design." Community College Frontiers 6.4 (Summer 1978): 28-35. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Maloney, Mike, director and ed. [Child Development Center Film]. Morton Grove, IL: Oakton Community College Audio Visual Aids and Student Development, 1978. Videorecording. (Owned by Oakton)

1979

Mikva, Abner J. Interview by Trudy H. Bers and William M. Taylor. People in Politics: Abner Mikva. Morton Grove, IL: Oakton Community College Audio-Visual Services, 1979. Videocassette. (Owned by Oakton)

Friend, Beverly. Essays or Reviews of “Babel-17,” “The Female Man,” “Malevil,” and “Rite of Passage.” Survey of Science Fiction Literature. Ed. Frank N. Magill. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1979. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “Debbie and the Dating Machine.” Plays 38.8 (May 1979): 1-12. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Garver, Juliet. “Father of the Year.” Plays 38.4 (Jan. 1979): 14+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Gohla, Nancy L., and Michael J. Maloney. Spectrum: Selected Resources for Personal Growth. Lexington, MA: Ginn Custom Publishing, 1979. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room: see Maloney, Michael J.)

Jaffe, Philip M., and Rodolfo Maglio. Tech Math: Technical Mathematics. Glenview, IL: Scott, Foresman, 1979. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Maglio, Rodolfo and Philip M. Jaffe. Tech Math: Technical Mathematics. Glenview, IL: Scott, Foresman, 1979. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Maloney, Michael J., and Nancy L. Gohla. Spectrum: Selected Resources for Personal Growth. Lexington, MA: Ginn Custom Publishing, 1979. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Salsedo, Andre J. "Zoom Lens on Gurana." Whole Foods 2:12 (Dec. 1979): 20-31. Print.

Tracz, Richard Francis, and C. Jeriel Howard. Contact: A Textbook in Applied Communications. 3rd ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1979. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Subject Guide