Finding the source for an image
- Find related images with reverse image searchCan't remember where you found an image?
Use the reverse search in Google Images to find the website for your image.
Image Captions - Do They Affect What You See?
This example is taken from Google's "Be Internet Awesome" Digital Safety and Citizenship Curriculum. Notice how the words under the text can change the whole meaning of the image. Look at every image carefully. Decide for yourself!
Be Internet Awesome. (2019, June 1). In Google. Retrieved from https://storage.googleapis.com/gweb-interland.appspot.com/en-us/hub/pdfs/Google_BeInternetAwesome_DigitalCitizenshipSafety_2019Curriculum.pdf
Find Images at the Oakton Library
- Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Saskia Art Images Collection This link opens in a new windowContains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites. To view image collections off campus, use the "OFF Campus" browsing options using the A-Z link above.
For "ON Campus" access, use this link and choose "Browse Collection ON Campus."
Image Example
Lam, R. (2011, June 15). Riot breaks out after game in Vancouver [Photograph]. Getty Images. Retrieved from https://www.gettyimages.com/detail/news-photo/riot-police-walk-in-the-street-as-a-couple-kiss-on-june-15-news-photo
Here we see a man and woman whom appear to be in a romantic pose during the middle of a riot. However, even pictures are not always what they seem in reali life. Read this news article to find out more about the context of this photograph and how it came to pass. There is even a short video.
To be sure an Image is LEGIT, pay attention to:
Check your sources.
Is It Legit?
Consider these questions from the University of Washington Tacoma Library:
- What do you see?
- What is the image about?
- Can the image be looked at different ways?
- How effective is the image as a visual message?
- What information accompanies the image?
- Does the text change how you see the image? Is the textual information intended to be factual and inform, or is it intended to influence what and how you see?
- What is the audience for this image?
- Where did you find the image?
- What information does the source provide about the origins of the image? Is the source reliable and trustworthy?
- Are there copyright or other use restrictions you need to consider?
Is It The Right Fit?
Find Images Online - More than Google Images!
- Library of Congress Digital Collections Available OnlineWritten and spoken words, recordings, images, prints, and maps that document the American experience from historical collections.
- Digital Public Library of America - DPLADPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, news footage, oral histories, are free and immediately available in digital format.
- Flickr - The CommonsThe Commons was launched on January 16 2008, when we released our pilot project in partnership with The Library of Congress.
The program has two main objectives:
To increase access to publicly-held photography collections, and
To provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge - Illinois Digital ArchivesWhat can you find in the Illinois Digital Archives?
Photographs, Postcards, Posters, Videos,
Maps...and much more.