Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oakton Authors

From Oakton's Catalog

BERS, Trudy H.

Bers, Trudy, and Pam Schuetz. "Nearbies: A Missing Piece of the College Completion Conundrum." Community College Review 42:3 (July 2014): 167-183. Print.

Bers, Trudy H., Christopher M. Mullin and Linda Serra Hagedorn, eds. Data Use in the Community College. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2012. Print. New Directions for Institutional Research 153. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. “Surveys and Benchmarks.” Data Use in the Community College. Ed. Christopher M. Mullin, Trudy H. Bers and Linda Serra Hagedorn. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2012. Print. New Directions for Institutional Research 153. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H., Jeffrey A. Seybert, and Ellen Weed. “Benchmarking in Higher Education.” Handbook on Measurement, Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education. Ed. Charles Secolsky. New York: Routledge, 2012. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. “Program Review and Institutional Effectiveness.” Institutional Effectiveness. Ed. Ronald B. Head. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass/Wiley, 2011. 63-74. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 153.

Bers, Trudy and Donna Younger. "The Role of Feeder Community Colleges." Transfer Students in Higher Education: Foundations for Policies, Programs, and Services That Foster Student Success. Ed. Mark A. Poisel and Sonya Joseph. Columbia, SC: National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition, U of South Carolina, 2011. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy, and Randy L. Swing. "Championing the Assessment of Learning: The Role of Top Leaders.” Higher Education Assessments: Leadership Matters. Ed. Gary L. Kramer and Randy L. Swing. Washington, D.C.: American Council on Educ. and Rowman & Littlefield, 2010.

Bers, Trudy and Jaimie Lester. “Hiring and Recruiting Female Faculty." Hiring the Next Generation of Community College Faculty. Ed. Brent D. Cejda and John P. Murray. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2010. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 152. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. “Improving Practice through Scholarship: An Uncommon Record of Achievement.” Community College Journal of Research and Practice 33.9 (2009): 745-748. Print.

Bers, Trudy, and James Kostecki. “The Effect of Tutoring on Student Success." Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 16.1 (Fall 2008): 6-12. Print.

Bers, Trudy H. "The Role of Institutional Assessment in Assessing Student Learning Outcomes." Institutional Research: More than Just Data. Ed. Dawn G. Terkla. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2008. Print. New Directions for Higher Education 141. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H., ed. Student Tracking in the Community College. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2008. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 143. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H. "Assessing Critical Thinking in Community Colleges." Critical Thinking: Unfinished Business. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2005. 15-25. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 130. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H., and Pamela M. Galowich. “Parents and the College Choice Process for Community College Students.” Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 10.1 (Fall 2003): 25-40. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Pamela M. Galowich. “Parents and the College Choice Process for Community College Students.” Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 10.1 (Fall 2003): 25-40. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Pamela M. Galowich. “Using Survey and Focus Group Research to Learn About Parents’ Roles in the Community College Choice Process.” Community College Review 29.4 (Spring 2002): 67-82. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Harriott D. Calhoun, eds. Next Steps for the Community College. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2002. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 117. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H., and Harriott D. Calhoun. “Literature on Community Colleges: An Overview.” New Directions for Community Colleges 117 (Spring 2002): 5-12. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., Joseph W. Filkins, Sr., and Gerald W. McLaughlin. “Understanding Transfers: A Collaborative Community College and University Research Project.” Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 8.2 (Spring 2001): 93-105. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Measuring and Reporting Competencies.” New Directions for Institutional Research 110 (Summer 2001): 29-40. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., B. Diane Davis, and Mary Mittler. “Assessing the Achievement of General Education Objectives in the Community College: A Project across the Disciplines.” Assessment Update 13.3 (May-June 2001): 6-13. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy. “Assessing the First Year at a Community College.” Proving and Improving: Strategies for Assessing the First College Year. Ed. Randy L. Swing. Columbia, South Carolina: U of South Carolina, National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition, 2001. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. “Assessing the First Year at a Community College.” Proving and Improving: Strategies for Assessing the First College Year. Ed. Randy L. Swing. Columbia, South Carolina: U of South Carolina, National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition, 2001. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers Trudy H., and Gwen Nyden. “The Disappearing Student: Students Who Leave Before the Census Date.” Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice 2.3 (2000-2001): 205-217. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy. “Assessing the Achievement of General Education Objectives: A College-Wide Approach.” Journal of General Education 49.3 (2000): 182-210. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Assessing the Achievement of General Education Objectives: Second Year of a College-Wide Approach and Lessons Learned.” Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 7.2 (Spring 2000): 101-113. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., B. Diane Davis, and Bill Taylor. “The Use of Syllabi in Assessments: Unobtrusive Indicators and Tools for Faculty Development.” Assessment Update 12.3 (May-June 2000): 4-7. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. Effective Reporting. Tallahassee, Florida: Assn. for Institutional Research, 1999. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. “The Impact of Distance Education on Institutional Research.“ New Directions for Institutional Research 103 (Fall 1999): 61-78. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy. “Self-Assessments, Academic Skills and Student Achievement.” Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 4.2 (Spring 1997): 101- 117. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., Marilee McGowan, and Alan Rubin. “The Disposition to Think Critically among Community College Students: The California Critical Thinking Dispositions Inventory.” Journal of General Education 45.3 (1996): 197-223. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., Diane Davis, and Bill Taylor. “Syllabus Analysis: What Are We Teaching and Telling Our Students?” Assessment Update 8.6 (Nov.-Dec. 1996): 1+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy, and Mary L. Mittler. “Taking the First Step: An Assessment Audit.” Assessment in Practice: Putting Principles to Work on College Campuses. Ed. Trudy W. Banta, et al. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1996. Print.

Bers, Trudy H., and Richard L. Storinger. “Faculty Seminars: Development in Depth.” IE in Focus: Issues, Trends and Methodologies in Institutional Effectiveness Fall 1995. Print.

Bers, Trudy H., and Mary L. Mittler, eds. Assessment and Testing: Myths and Realities. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1994. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 88. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. H. “Articulation and Transfer.” Managing Community Colleges: A Handbook for Effective Practice. Ed. Arthur M. Cohen, Florence B. Brawer, and Associates. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1994. Print. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy. “English Proficiency, Course Patterns, and Academic Achievements of Limited-English-Proficient Community College Students.” Research in Higher Education 35.2 (1994): 209-234. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Focus Group Research: Community College Applications.” Journal of Applied Research in the Community College 2.1 (Fall 1994): 5-19. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “The Costs and Benefits of Student Tracking Systems.” Community, Technical, & Junior College Journal 62.4 (Feb./Mar. 1992): 20-23. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Assessing the Effectiveness of the Transfer Function for Community Colleges.” Assessment Update 3 (May/June 1991): 5-7. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry E. Smith. “Persistence of Community College Students: The Influence of Student Intent and Academic and Social Integration.” Research in Higher Education 32.5 (1991): 539-556. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., Earnest Beals, and Don Hossler. “Case Studies of Successful Marketing in Two Institutions.” The Strategic Management of College Enrollments. Ed. Don Hossler and John Bean. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publications, 1990. Print.

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry E. Smith. “Assessing Assessment Programs: The Theory and Practice of Examining Reliability and Validity of a Writing Placement Test.” Community College Review 18.3 (Winter 1990): 17-27. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., ed. Using Student Tracking Systems Effectively. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1989. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 66. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy H. “The Popularity and Problems of Focus-Group Research.” College & University 64.3 (Spring 1989): 260-268. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Alan M. Rubin. “Tracking Students in Community Colleges: The Unreported Challenges.” Using Student Tracking Systems Effectively. Ed. Trudy H. Bers. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1989. 55-61. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 66. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room )

Bers, Trudy H. “Tracking Systems and Student Flow.” Using Student Tracking Systems Effectively. Ed. Trudy H. Bers. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1989. 3-7. Print. New Directions for Community Colleges 66. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry Smith. “Parents and the College Choice Decisions of Community College Students.” College and University 64:4 (Summer 1989): 335-348. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Student Major Choices and Community College Persistence.” Research in Higher Education 29.2 (1988): 161-173. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry Smith. “Focus Groups and Community College Research: Lessons from a Study of Nontraditional Students.” Community College Review 15.4 (Spring 1988): 52-58. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy. “Evaluating College Remedial/Developmental Programs: Results of a Cooperative Effort Among Community Colleges.” Community College Journal for Research and Planning 6.2 (1988): 34-39. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy, and Mary Mittler. “Academic Computing: From Chaos to Coordination.” Cause/Effect 11.2 (Mar. 1988): 28+. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Evaluating Remedial Education Programs.” AIR Professional File 29. Assn. for Institutional Research, Apr. 1987. Print.

Bers, Trudy H. “Exploring Institutional Images through Focus Group Interviews.” New Directions for Institutional Research 54 (Summer 1987): 19-29. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Kerry Smith. “College Choice and the Nontraditional Student.” Community College Review 15.1 (Summer 1987): 39-45. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy, and Kerry Smith. “Improving Alumni Survey Response Rates: An Experiment and Cost-Benefit Analysis.” Research in Higher Education 27.3 (1987): 218-225. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Mary Mittler. “Marketing Higher Education or a College Is Not a Tuna Fish Sandwich.” World Marketing Congress: Proceedings of the Third Bi-Annual International Conference of the Academy of Marketing Science. Barcelona, Spain, August 23-26, 1987. Ed. Kenneth D. Bahn and M. Joseph Sirgy. Blacksburg, VA: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State U, 1987. Print.

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Confidence, Commitment, and Academic Performance and Retention of Community College Students.” Community/Junior College Quarterly of Research & Practice 10.1 (1986): 35-57. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H., and Terrence J. Sullivan. “Planetary Leadership: A Presentation in the Peripatetic Method of Effecting Change in a College—A Case Study in Management by Wandering Around.” Planning for Higher Education 13.4 (Summer 1985): 4-9. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “District Ecology and Citizen Educators: The Recruitment and Election of Community College Trustees.” Social Science Journal 19.1 (Jan. 1982): 73-87. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron, and Susan Gluck Mezey. “Support for Feminist Goals among Leaders of Women’s Community Groups.” Signs 6.4 (Summer 1981): 737-748. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Trustee Characteristics and Decision Making Among Suburban and Rural Community College Trustees.” Community/Junior College Research Quarterly 4.3 (Apr.-June 1980): 249-262. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Trustee Characteristics and Decision Making Among Suburban and Rural Community College Trustees.” Community/Junior College Research Quarterly 4.3 (Apr.-June 1980): 249-262. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Perceptions of Women’s Roles among Community College Women.” Psychology of Women Quarterly 4:4 (Summer 1980): 492-507. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. School-Community Communication: School Board Members and Their Constituents. Washington, D.C.: National School Boards Assn., 1980. Print.

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Politics, Programs, and Local Governments: The Case of Community Colleges.” Journal of Politics 42.1 (Jan. 1980): 150-164. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Mikva, Abner J. Interview by Trudy H. Bers and William M. Taylor. People in Politics: Abner Mikva. Morton Grove, IL: Oakton Community College Audio-Visual Services, 1979. Videocassette. (Owned by Oakton)

Bers, Trudy Haffron, and Mary Olson. “Faculty Opinions about Student Evaluation.” New Directions for Community Colleges 24 (Winter 1978): 77-86. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Student Perceptions of Teaching Techniques and Correlates of Course Performance in Introductory Social Science Courses.” Teaching Political Science 5.4 (July 1978): 421-436. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy Haffron. “Local Political Elites: Men and Women on Boards of Education.” Western Political Quarterly 31.3 (Sept. 1978): 381-391. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)

Bers, Trudy H. “Two Year College Students: A Preference for Passive Learning.” News for Teachers of Political Science 18 (Summer 1978). Print.

Bers, Trudy H. Private Welfare Agencies and Their Role in Government-Sponsored Welfare Programs: The Case of the War on Poverty in Chicago. Diss., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI, 1973. Microfilm.

Trudy Bers

Bers, Trudy