From Oakton's Catalog
The Annotated Passover Haggadah by
The Annotated Passover Haggadah presented here is unique, both in substance and appeal. The story is well-known and often repeated, having been translated, elaborated, neutered, abbreviated, truncated, and all but exfoliated over the many centuries. Nevertheless, the current volume makes an important contribution since, while preserving both the traditional Hebrew text along with an equally traditional English translation, it provides important analytical, philosophical, and theological perspectives on the seminal event of Jewish consciousness and self-awareness. This Haggadah is intended, notwithstanding its scholarly rigor, for practical use in family and congregational settings for those who wish, during this all-important night, to delve ever deeply into the Passover narrative, to go beyond the mere repetition of an annual ritual into a more richly rewarding and profound experience. Its overall theme is a celebration, not only of the deliverance from Egypt but of the widely disparate ways in which the Passover is observed by sundry traditions worldwide. Going beyond the "normative" observance of the Passover Seder, this Haggadah breaks new ground in referencing the increasing interest among Christians and Messianic Jews in observing the Exodus from Egypt. It underscores, via a small cadre of the world's most renowned Jewish scholars, the sanctified memory of this mighty deliverance, which remains forever emblazoned in the Jewish soul.
Call Number: BM695.P35 G353 2021 (DP & RHC)ISBN: 9781736273920Publication Date: 2021
Love Life and Press on with Peace : a Palestinian Woman's Journey to Peace by
Safa Hamed learned from a young age how to overcome adversity-- with humor and passion. She shares her Palestinian wit with open arms and an open heart. An hour with Safa is like spending an hour with your favorite storyteller, and her gentle narrative guides you through her memories of growing up in Palestine.
Call Number: HQ1728.5.Z75 H36 2020 (DP)ISBN: 9781838026639Publication Date: 2020
From Sorrow to Triumphant Joy by
"David Bekker (1897-1956) was born in Vilna, Poland. He studied at the Antokolsky Art School in Russia; the Bezalel Art Academy in Jerusalem, Palestine; and the Academy of Fine Arts in Denver. During the Great Depression, Bekker was a WPA artist in Chicago where he produced images of human suffering and painted murals in Illinois public buildings. In the book Art of Today: Chicago, 1933 (written by J.Z. Jacobson and published by L.M. Stein), Bekker revealed his identity and his inspiration: "As a descendant of the persecuted Jewish people, branded with a yellow badge of humiliation and rendered impervious to the onslaughts of an antagonistic world by a soul which has never surrendered, I feel impelled to give form in my work to pathos, sorrow, strife and triumphant joy""--
Call Number: N6537.B444 A4 2019 (DP & RHC)ISBN: 9780578582085Publication Date: 2019
Makers of Jewish Modernity by Call Number: BM195 .M35 2016 (RHC)ISBN: 9780691164236Publication Date: 2016- Egon Weiner: Pillar of Human Emotion byCall Number: NB230.I3 E36 2014 (DP & RHC)ISBN: 0692241337Publication Date: 2014
Zionist Architecture and Town Planning by Call Number: DS110.T34 H37 2014 (RHC)ISBN: 9781557536730Publication Date: 2013
The Letters of Rosa Luxemburg by
This is the most comprehensive collection of letters by Rosa Luxemburg ever published in English, including 190 letters written to leading figures in the European and international labor and socialist movements––Leo Jogiches, Karl Kautsky, Clara Zetkin and Karl Liebknecht––who were her closest friends, lovers and colleagues. Many of these letters appear for the first time in English translation; all help to illuminate the inner life of this iconic revolutionary, who was at once an economic and social theorist, a political activist and a lyrical stylist. Her political concerns are revealed alongside her personal struggles within a socialist movement that was often hostile to independently minded women. This collection will provide readers with a newer and deeper appreciation of Luxemburg as a writer and historical figure.
Call Number: HX274.7.L89 H4713 2011 (DP)ISBN: 1844674533Publication Date: 2011-02-28- A Gift to Biro-Bidjan, 1937 : From Despair to New Hope byCall Number: AM7 .H277 2002 (DP & RHC)Publication Date: 2002
- Plucked Chicken Press: The Oakton Community College Collection of Stone Prints by Will Petersen and His Contemporaries byCall Number: AM7 .H27 2001 (DPC & RHC)Publication Date: 2001
HALLERDUFF, Martinique
Hallerduff, Martinique, and Hannah Carlton. "What is Authority?: A Feminist Investigation of Personal Experience as Knowledge in Student Research and Writing." The Critical Librarianship and Pedagogy Symposium: Reflections, Revisions, and New Works, edited by Yvonne Mery and Anthony Sanchez, Association of College and Research Libraries, 2023, p. 63-85. (Owned by Oakton)
HAMED, Safa
Hamed, Safa. Love Life and Press on with Peace : A Palestinian Woman’s Journey to Peace. London, Indeed Publishing, 2020. (Owned by Oakton)
HAMLIN, Amanda
Lyons, Thomas S., Roger E. Hamlin, and Amanda Hamlin. Using Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation to Mitigate Wealth Inequality. De/G Press, 2018.
HARPAZ, Nathan
Harpaz, Nathan. "Sample Haggadot and Sedarim." The Annotated Passover Haggadah, edited by Zev Garber and Kenneth Hanson. GCRR Press, 2021, pp. 159-175. (Owned by Oakton).
Harpaz, Nathan, et al. From Sorrow to Triumphant Joy : The Art of David Bekker. Des Plaines, Illinois, Koehnline Museum Of Art, 2019. (Owned by Oakton)
Harpaz, Nathan. Introduction. Egon Weiner: Pillar of Human Emotions. By Koehnline Museum of Art. Ed. Janet Spector Bishop. Des Plaines, IL: Oakton Community College, 2014. Print. (Owned by Oakton)
Harpaz, Nathan. Zionist Architecture and Town Planning: The Building of Tel Aviv (1919-1929). West Lafayette, IN: Purdue U P, 2014. Print. (Owned by Oakton)
Harpaz, Nathan. A Gift to Biro-Bidjan, Chicago, 1937: From Despair to New Hope. Des Plaines, IL: Oakton Community College, 2002. Print. (Owned by Oakton)
Harpaz, Nathan. Plucked Chicken Press: The Oakton Community College Collection of Stone Prints by Will Petersen and His Contemporaries. Des Plaines, IL: Oakton Community College, 2001. Print. (Owned by Oakton)
HELFGOT, Steven R.
Helfgot, Steven R. “Student Development Faculty in the Interdisciplinary Learning Cluster.” Community College Frontiers 4.1 (1975): 23-25. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)
HUDIS, Peter
Hudis, Peter, and Kevin B. Anderson. “Rosa Luxemburg (1871-1919): Universalism and Particularism." Makers of Jewish Modernity: Thinkers, Artists, Leaders, and the World They Made. Ed. Jacques Picard, et al. Princeton: Princeton U P, 2016. 159-172. Print.
Hudis, Peter. Frantz Fanon: Philosopher of the Barricades. London: Pluto Press, 2015. Print.
Hudiks, Peter. “The Ethical Implications of Marx’s Concept of a Post-Capitalist Society.” Constructing Marxist Ethics: Critique, Normativity, Praxis. Ed. Michael J. Thompson. Leiden: Brill, 2015. Print. Studies in Critical Social Sciences 74.
Hudis, Peter, ed. Economic Writings. Trans. David Fernbach, Joseph Fracchia and George Shriver. London: Verso, 2013-2015. Print. Vols. 1-2 of The Complete Works of Rosa Luxemburg.
Hudis, Peter. “The Dialectic of the Spatial Determination of Capital: on Luxemburg’s Accumulation of Capital Reconsidered.” International Critical Thought 4.4 (Dec. 2014): 474-490. Print.
Hudis, Peter. “Alternatywa istnieje. Można ją znaleźć u Marksa!” Trans. Anna Piekarska and Jakub Krzeski. Praktyka Teoretyczna July 2014. Print. (Unverified)
Hudis, Peter. Interview by Kristina Božič. "Za Nas v Kapitalizmu ni Prihodnosti." Objektiv 28 June 2014. Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://www.dnevnik.si/objektiv/intervjuji/-za-nas-v-kapitalizmu-ni-prihodnosti>.
Hudis, Peter. Interview by Tom O’Brien. “What’s Next?” Irishleftreview.org. Irish Left Review, 18 Aug. 2014. Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://www.irishleftreview.org/2014/08/18/alpha-omega-podcast-052/>.
Hudis, Peter. “The Dialectic of Spatial Determination: Rosa Luxemburg’s Accumulation of Capital Reconsidered.” Logos 13.1-2 (Spring 2014). Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://logosjournal.com/2014/Hudis>
Hudis, Peter. “Sermayenin uzamsal belirleniminin diyalektiği: Rosa Luxmburg'un sermaye birikiminin yeniden düşünülmesi.” Felsefelogos 52 (2014): 168-184. Print.
Hudis, Peter. “Alternatywa istnieje. Można ją znaleźć u Marksa!” Trans. Anna Piekarska and Jakub Krzeski. Praktykateoretyczna.pl. Praktyka Teoretyczna, 28 Feb. 2014. Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://www.praktykateoretyczna.pl/peter-hudis-alternatywa-istnieje/>
Hudis, Peter. “Yes, There is an Alternative—And It Can Be Found in Marx.” Praktykateoretyczna.pl. Praktyka Teoretyczna, 28 Feb. 2014. Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://www.praktykateoretyczna.pl/czasopismo/yes-there-is-an-alternative-and-it-can-be-found-in-marx/>.
Hudis, Peter. “Labor Theory of Value.” The Encyclopedia of Political Thought. Ed. Michael T. Gibbons. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014. Print.
Hudis, Peter. “Rosa Luxemburg’s Concept of a Post-Capitalist Society.” Rosa Luxemburg’s Thought and Contemporary Value. [in Chinese.] Ed. He Ping. Wuhan, China: Wuhan UP, 2014. 167-176. Print. (Unverified)
Hudis, Peter. “Social Reproduction, the Circulation of Capital, and the Quest for a New Society.” Introduction to Marx’s Capital. [in Farsi]. Ed. Hassan Mortazavi. Vol. 2. Tehran: Lahita, 2014. (Unverified)
Hudis, Peter. “Yes, There is an Alternative—And It Can Be Found in Marx.” Praktyka Teoretyczna 3.9 (2013): 19-44. Print.
Hudis, Peter. “Tiranija Absrtrakcije.” Tribuna Jan. 2013: 28-30. [in Slovanian.] Print. (Unverified)
Hudis, Peter. Interview. “Lire Rosa Luxemburg: Entrerien avec Peter Hudis.” Trans. G. Cluseret. Avanti 27 Feb. 2013. Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://www.avanti4.be/debats-theorie-histoire/article/lire-rosa-luxemburg>.
Hudis, Peter. “Lire Rosa Luxemburg: Entrerien avec Peter Hudis.” Avanti 27 Feb. 2013: 4-7. Print. (Unverified)
Hudis, Peter. “Trabalho Social Direto e Indireto: que Espécie de Relação Humana Pode Transcender o Capitalismo?” Trans. Eleutério F.S. Prado. Eleuterioprado.wordpress.com. Economia e Complexidade, 16 Mar. 2013. PDF. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://eleuterioprado.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/hudis-trabalho-social-direto-e-indireto.pdf>
Luxemburg, Rosa. The Letters Of Rosa Luxemburg. Eds. Georg Adler, Peter Hudis and Annelies Laschitza, Annelies. London: Verso, 2011. Print. (Owned by Oakton)
Hudis, Peter. Interview by Red Pepper. “Reading Rosa.” Redpepper.org.uk. Red Pepper Blog, Apr. 2011. Web. 4 Nov. 2014. <http://www.redpepper.org.uk/reading-rosa/>
HURTADO, Ryan R.
Hurtado, Ryan R., et al. "Specific Inhibition of the Transcription Factor Ci by a Cobalt(III) Schiff Base–DNA Conjugate." Molecular Pharmaceutics 3 Jan. 2012. Web. 21 Nov. 2013.
Hurtado, Ryan R., et al. "Specific Inhibition of the Transcription Factor Ci by a Cobalt(III) Schiff Base–DNA Conjugate." Molecular Pharmaceutics 9.2 (6 Feb. 2012): 325-333. Print.
IRLEN, Harvey S.
Irlen, Harvey S. “On the Sowing of Turnips.” Community College Frontiers 2.1 (1973): 3-4. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)
Irlen, Harvey S. “Responsive Academic Structures.” ADE Bulletin (1972): 45- 47. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)
Irlen, Harvey Stuart. “Toward Confronting Freshmen.” College Composition and Communication 21.1 (1970): 35-40. Print. (Owned by Oakton/Library Archives Room)